Madison Indiana Photography

BFK Photography

“Coneflower Art”


I shot this coneflower extremely shallow, just trying to emphasize the colors and bring enough form to give you an idea what the flower is, once again my favorite way to shoot flowers. This one was actually shot outside and not inside my basement, it has been so dry this summer most the flowers never really looked good so I have been making a few trips to the local florist hoping to get a few good subjects.

Shot at f/2.8, 1/60 second at iso 160. I also added a very slight surface blur to this because it had some age spots on it and I was too lazy to clone them out :)

soa-coneflower-3.jpg



September 21, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, Clifty Falls, coneflower, flora, flower photography, flowers, image, indiana wildflowers, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photography, pictures, random

14 Comments »

  1. wonderful colors! Bravo!

    Comment by mon@rch | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. Bernie, you get more color out of each shot than I could imagine is possible. I envy that ability!

    Comment by montucky | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hey Bernie, very cool comp, well done.

    Comment by Mike Moats | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  4. Bernie, I like how the eye naturally travels up those long petals to the focal point there in the center. Your macros have really evolved into something beautiful! I can imagine this matted and framed in large format, can’t you?

    Comment by Photo Buffet | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  5. awesome shot. has the characteristic ‘Bernie’ flower macro abstract look. :) nicely done.

    Comment by ankush | September 22, 2007 | Reply

  6. Awesome! Macro shots a bit out of the box are nice. Very inspirational :)

    Comment by Thomas | September 22, 2007 | Reply

  7. The colors are great!

    Comment by kml | September 22, 2007 | Reply

  8. Beautiful shot Bernie. It reminds me of a bunch of fireworks launching. Really neat effect.

    I know the feeling on the dry flowers.

    Comment by paintingartist | September 22, 2007 | Reply

  9. THUS IS JUST GORGEOUS MY FRIEND.. AND THANKS FOR BEING SUCH A GREAT CHEERLEADER,,, ERR COACH:)

    Comment by Cindy | September 23, 2007 | Reply

  10. I’m a big fan of the color as well – you have a real knack of making a coneflower look almost neon. Wicked. ;)

    Comment by aullori | September 23, 2007 | Reply

  11. Wow. those red things are almost popping off the screen! the color scheme is amazing.

    Comment by Richard | September 23, 2007 | Reply

  12. Beautiful colors & form – I like the slight blur too.

    Gotta get me some lighting (which I need anyways to photograph the jewelry my girlfriend is making) and flowers and play with at-home macro photography one of these days!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | September 23, 2007 | Reply

  13. Hey Bernie, nice composition here. These flowers seem to offer up new and interesting images whenever we spend time with them.

    Comment by Mark | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  14. The tag is to show your desktop. So now I tag Bernie of BFK Photography and Boyd of Beautiful Explorations of Creative Passion both of whose photography I enjoy very much and I thank them for their continued visits and support. No pressure to participate folks but show us your screens!

    Comment by ankush | September 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers

