Madison Indiana Photography

BFK Photography

“Madison Indiana Sunset”

Here is another shot of the bridge, but this time I was looking west into the sunset from Milton Kentucky towards Madison. The sky had been pretty dull all evening but about the time the sun dropped below the western horizon, the sky took on these beautiful colors, there weren’t many clouds in the sky to hold the color so I had to shoot pretty quickly to get these before darkness set in.

And now for the real story !!

And as you can also tell I actually enhanced the saturation in this a bit to get the desired effect, how much wiggle room and leeway do you give yourself artistictly to get the desired effect of the image you are after ?

Do you feel it is a betrayal to photography to manipulate the color to create an image ?

I actually added about 25% saturation boost and a surface blur to get the water to smooth out like this, other than that I don’t add much to an image, I know the effect really added a different look to the scene as I viewed it.

I guess to photographers this can be viewed as overkill, but to the average buyer, sometimes with me it seems they like it a little more on the saturated side.  If you sell many prints do you find this to be the case with your clients ?

I am starting to find that the things I like are definitely not what the general public like, so hopefully I will be able to adapt to their taste and fill the niche, that at least around here needs to be filled.

October 17, 2008 Posted by | art, blogging, Clifty Falls, DSLR, image, images, indiana, joe the plumber, landscapes, life, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photographer, photography, random, sunset, travel, Uncategorized, West Street Art Center | | 22 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers