Madison Indiana Photography

Virginia Bluebells


Hanover College is located a couple miles west of Clifty Falls State Park, it sits a top a 300 ft bluff that overlooks the Ohio River, there are many canyons and gorges that surround the college that help to make it one of the most picturesque campuses in the midwest. The canyons and cliffs are full of beautiful hardwood forest and many seasonal waterfalls, during the spring the waterfalls and wildflowers make this a truly spectacular location to hike, the fall gives way to sweeping vista’s of colorful foilage that are second to none to any other location in the midwest.

I shot these Virginia Bluebells earlier this spring in one of the canyons known as Happy Valley, I will post a more wideangle landscape shot of these beautiful wildflowers that cover the hillsides in the spring, thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

virginia-bluebells-1.jpg

June 13, 2007 - Posted by | blogging, flower photography, flowers, Hanover College, indiana, indiana wildflowers, macro photography, nature, photoblog, photography, virginia bluebells, waterfalls, wildflowers

6 Comments »

  1. That is an absolutely beautiful shot, Bernie! I guess I admire it so much because I’ve had a very difficult time photographing the bluebells we have around here. Nice piece of work!

    Comment by montucky | June 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks for taking a look Terry, the hillsides were covered with these this spring, I am going to post a shot or two of some wideangle stuff that I got earlier. Thanks again for stopping by.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | June 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. I LOVE the color of these things… You really captured this nicely!

    Comment by Kevin | June 15, 2007 | Reply

  4. A really incredible flower photograph with a soft beauty that is stunning. A remarkable photograph.

    Comment by paintingartist | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  5. Dear Bernie,
    I really like your Virginia bluebell photo – you’ve captured the delicacy and blueness. 🙂 I’m an appreciative viewer of close-up photography of most subjects. Flowers are my passion – to view, grow, tend, cut. As possible, I purchase wonderful flower photos and frame them for gifts.
    My mother grew a large bed of these flowers in west central IL. I now live in far northern IL and it seems to be too cold for these flowers to survive the winter. So … your photo brought lovely memories of hand-picked bouquets for my mother. 🙂
    Anna

    Comment by Anna Kaplan | April 20, 2008 | Reply

  6. Bernie, this and your shot on Flickr (which I clicked to from the thumbnail on your site) are truly beautiful. This has become a favorite flower for me. I think of it as honoring my mother, Virginia, who gave me my love of flowers.
    You live in a lovely part of the state. (I’m in Plainfield, west of Indy)
    Beautiful photography. Thanks
    Mary

    Comment by Mary | April 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

