Madison Indiana Photography

“Tour-Ons”


This is what you get when you cross tourists and morons, I just returned from vacation with my family from The Smokey Mountains, this was a family vacation so there wasn’t a whole lot of time for photography but I was able to sneak away for a few shots one afternoon.

Being this was the peak of the tourists season I knew things would be bad, I hiked a easy trail up to Grotto Falls, on my way I knew from all the people on the trail that it was going to be crowded. When I arrived I was greeted by 37 other people, all squeezed into a spot about the size of a basketball court. Shaking my head I backed out of there and headed back down the trail to look for something else to photograph. I found this nice little waterfall over a embankment so I climbed down and got this one and a few other images from this spot.

I then climbed back up and sat down to eat some lunch, about this time a group of women, all in their late forties to early fifties approached me and wanted to know what I was shooting over the hillside. I showed them this image on my camera’s lcd screen, they then told me how much they liked it and would love to get a shot just like this on their point and shoot digital cameras, I tried to explain that it didn’t work that way but they would not hear any of that and decided to take matters into their own hands.

Now I am by no means a mountain climber or anything like that, but it was not an easy climb up or down that embankment, and I knew that it was going to be a mistake for them to proceed with this foolish notion of going down there to get this image. But proceed they did, there were 5 women in this group all dressed like they were going to garden party, they made it about 20 feet when the last woman in the group slipped and fell. If you have ever seen penguins sliding on ice and running into each other, this would be the best way to describe what happened next. She slid down the muddy trail taking every single person in her way with her, this mass of dirty screaming humanity did not stop until it reached the creek about 50 feet down the trail.

At this point all the other people at the falls ran to edge to see what had happened, I peered over as well to make sure they were alright, finding them all intact and and in surprisingly good humor I decided I had seen enough. I really didn’t think I would be able to keep a straight face when they made it back up on to the trail, so I quickly gathered my stuff and headed back down the mountain to my vehicle.

I felt a little guilty as I headed down the trail, maybe I should have went down and got them that picture or helped them up back up, but then I remembered how they acted when I told them it wasn’t a good idea to try to go down over that hill. I don’t know if they ever got that shot, and it really wasn’t that great of a scene to begin with, but they all survived and will be able to have a good story to tell when they get home. My only regret was not having a video camera to record the whole thing, it would have made a great bloopers tape.

below-grotto-1.jpg

 

July 2, 2007 - Posted by | blogging, DSLR, flora, hiking, images, landscapes, life, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random, travel, waterfalls

14 Comments »

  1. Wow, man. That is one nice picture! Have you used a soft filter or something on the water to get that misty effect?

    Comment by Stigster | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. I just shot it at a very long shutter speed, about 2.5 seconds on this one. I did use a filter to darken the image a little so that I could slow down the shutter speed to get this effect as well. Thanks for stopping by.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. Beautiful shot, and a funny story to boot 🙂 I always get a kick when people think they’re going to get SLR-quality shots out of a P&S – especially low-light, long-shutter scenes like this one!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  4. That’s a gorgeous shot! Nice subject, but beautifully done!

    Comment by montucky | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  5. Bernie, that is one heck of a story. I see the overcrowding in the Smokies too and hate to see it taking a toll on the landscape. What beautiful scenery though.

    Nice pic. I love the peaceful stillness you captured in it. Makes me want to go there and do some plein air painting or read a book.

    Comment by paintingartist | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  6. how serene and so beautiful bernie- ive missed npn, had no idea you had a blg.. youre going on mt sidebar asap-love the flower macro too!

    Comment by Cindy | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hey Bernie, excellent image, nice green rock and good job with the water.

    Comment by Mike Moats | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  8. Such a stunning shot as always! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  9. Thanks for all the comments guys.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  10. oh my… this is gorgeous!

    Comment by sabinche | July 4, 2007 | Reply

  11. Oh man, that is hilarious. I’d pay anything to see a debutante do that.

    btw, i just added your blog link onto mine as well.

    Comment by Richard | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  12. Bernie,this photo is beautiful! I thoroughly enjoyed reading your story that went along with the waterfall as well!

    Comment by Jolly Holly Folky Art | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  13. Wonderful shot Bernie. Green moss falls like this always look so fresh and inviting to me. You should have snapped some pics of the landslide. 🙂

    Comment by Mark | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  14. Mark I felt bad enough watching them roll down the hill, now you want pictures, your hardcore. My card was full anyway.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

