Madison Indiana Photography

“Wild Phlox”


Thought I would get back to what I know best and that’s wildflowers, shot this flower on a hike thru the woods in Southern Indiana earlier this spring, I tried to isolate the lower flowers from the background flowers by opening up the f-stop to around 2.8, I really liked the color in this but I am not real sure about the blob of color that sits right above it. Any thoughts or suggestions would be great.

                                                                                    creeping-phlox-1.jpg


July 10, 2007 - Posted by | art, blogging, DSLR, flora, flowers, garden, hiking, images, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, plants, random, travel, wildflowers

9 Comments »

  1. wow. so clear and beautiful. u can crop it :]

    Comment by sarcasticb3rry | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. I love it Bernie! I like the blob of color above as you call it for I think it creates a cohesiveness. It is soft enough that it does not distract from the main flowers which are nice and crisp. If anything it slows our eye from leaving the page which is a good thing.

    Comment by BoydGreeneArt | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. I see what you mean. It’s a beautiful foreground shot, but that’s a lot of color distraction in the background. You can take nearly all of that away by cropping though.

    Comment by montucky | July 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. I like it – the muted color in the background seems to be a reflection of the color of the flowers. Nice effect.
    WC

    Comment by writerchick | July 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hey Bernie nice work. I like it the way it is, I agree with Boyd’s comment that it does not distract from the main subject, but adds context. Purple is my favorite!

    Comment by ankush | July 12, 2007 | Reply

  6. Bernie, this is a legitimate concern, and I’ve had the same thoughts about some of my macro photos, as well. Have you tried using an editing program to soften the background distraction? The dodge tool can work wonders on areas like this.
    The flowers are bright and pretty! I love purple.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | July 12, 2007 | Reply

  7. No Bonnie I haven’t tried any but I am open to suggestions if you have any that do well.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. This is really my kind of image. I love purple clothes and purple flowers. Very beautiful.

    Comment by Jolly Holly Folky Art | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  9. You have some of the best photos I have ever seen. Would love for you to take a few of animals too. 🙂

    Best,
    Funepets,
    http://www.funepets.com

    Comment by Funepets | January 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

