Madison Indiana Photography

“Coneflower Study”


I shot a group of coneflowers today, and came up with a few nice images, I tried to shoot them in pieces instead of the whole.  I used a very large aperture (2.8) and some pretty fast ss speeds, my iso was set at about 200 and I think I came up with some nice stuff.  What do you all think, I blew this first one up to 13×19 and it looks pretty darn good.

soa-coneflower-1.jpg

July 13, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, DSLR, flora, flowers, garden, hiking, images, indiana, landscapes, macro, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, plants, random, travel

20 Comments »

  1. I love this photo!! The colors are so neon and bright…they just pop!!

    Comment by Jolly Holly Folky Art | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. What a beautiful picture expertly handled. I love how you softly crafted this photograph for it goes so well with the flower. Superb!

    Comment by BoydGreeneArt | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. Very nice, Bernie. Is this a reply to those who say photography is not art?

    Comment by montucky | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. I love this photo – wonderful use of depth of field, perfect cropping, and lovely colors.

    Comment by ankush | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. Nice photo. Makes me wanna buy a macro!

    Comment by Dmitri Markine | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. I especially love how the point of focus is right where the seedhead meets the petals…it draws your eye right in.

    Comment by HeyJules | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Just love these Coneflower macro shots! I love the colors you were able to capture!

    Comment by mon@rch | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Bernie, I have tried to start this blogging nightmare. All of my pics are too big and look horrible on the blog. How get themt o fit and look good on wordpress?

    Comment by conchlife | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. I sent you a e-mail, I will call later.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  10. It is no surprise this looks nice printed big Bernie, very nice. I love studying these myself.

    Comment by Mark | July 13, 2007 | Reply

  11. Thanks for stopping by Mark, thanks for the link as well, I will get you linked up here in a bit. Your site is great as well.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 14, 2007 | Reply

  12. That looks nice. I love the focusing!

    Comment by growthumbs | July 14, 2007 | Reply

  13. Very nice coneflower and phlox shots Bernie! (here via Michigan in Pictures)

    Comment by farlane | July 14, 2007 | Reply

  14. Nice composition – the wide open aperture suits it. Pretty colors ,too!

    Comment by tomwhelan | July 14, 2007 | Reply

  15. This is pretty good. Bernie, what can I say! really, this is amazing.

    Comment by hani | July 15, 2007 | Reply

  16. Love the spikiness of the conehead and the mauve of the petals. Nice shot!

    Comment by janina | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  17. Lovely flower ! Beautiful colours !

    The bokeh is excellent and ideal for me ! Nice perspective too !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | January 28, 2009 | Reply

  18. Great use of soft focus

    Comment by Descartes | January 28, 2009 | Reply

  19. Nice job!

    Comment by toronto russian wedding photographer | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  20. Really nice website
    Best wishes from the team at Piper Studios, Wedding Photography Toronto.

    Wedding Photography Toronto
    [url=http://www.piperstudios.com]

    Comment by Piper Studio | June 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

