Madison Indiana Photography

“Greenbriar Confluence”


This is another image from my last trip to the Smokies in the Greenbriar section of the park, I pulled over at the confluence of the Pigeon River and another smaller creek, I climbed over the side and waded out about 20 feet into the creek to get this shot. I liked how the light pulls you up the creek into the image, I slowed down my shutter speed to get the “frosty” look as the water flowed over the rocks.

I was going to make the 8 mile hike up to and back from Ramsey’s Cascade but I ran out of light so I just worked the creek up to the trailhead. There are so many photo ops in the Smokies I almost hate going any more because I never feel I can do the area justice, it is almost a place you have to live near to be able to get a good feel for the area. Along with wildflowers, stream and waterfall images are my favorite type to capture, they have such a peaceful mood to them I really enjoy photographing.

greenbriar-cascade-1.jpg

July 23, 2007 - Posted by | art, DSLR, flora, hiking, image, images, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random, travel, waterfalls

18 Comments »

  1. Your picture makes me want to wade up and around the corner.

    Comment by Brian | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Quite frankly, for those familiar with Southern Indiana artists, this photograph looks a lot like the subject matter that William McKendree Snyder used in his oils. Not that he painted oils of streams, but rather the surrounding forest and the light that you mentioned previously. A great shot.

    Comment by conchlife | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Bernie, this is a spectacular image–such depth and movement! It rivals a beautiful oil painting for detail. I can’t imagine this being a hand-held image, so I’m assuming you used hauled a tripod into the middle of the stream, also? Great work, and well worth the wade.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Bernie, that’s simply magnificent!

    Comment by montucky | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. beautiful photo Bernie. i love it!

    Comment by ankush | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. So true Bernie, the Smokies are overwhelming causing you to be almost dazed thinking what should I do first? Beautiful photo. I love how you can only barely see the stream disappearing into the horizon. I also like how you put the greens in the upper third. Well thought out and crafted.

    Comment by paintingartist | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  7. What a beautiful place! It looks like somewhere I’d like to be to sit and think for awhile. I love how the water looks and its so clear and pretty. Definitely worth going in after the shot.

    Comment by Lori | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  8. This is a sight I would love to wake up to every morning outside my bedroom deck. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Comment by Jolly Holly Folky Art | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  9. Hi – I love the photos on your site.

    Check out our site http://www.photrade.com – it is a photosharing site made specifically for bloggers and photographers (and you appear to be both).

    You can actually SELL your photos on this site PLUS you can earn ad revenue when people view your photos. Its also a great way to get your work out there – our library of photos is expanding every day. Check it out.

    My Fav is the photrade badge – you can get one to show a collage of your photos when you upload photos.

    I would love to know what you think about the site. Our goal is to make something better for the blogging community!

    K-Rock

    Comment by thisiswhyimhot | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  10. I feel like I want to dive into the misty water right at the front of the image, just to see if it would give way…Nice shot!

    Comment by janina | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  11. Hey thanks for the shutter speed tip. You’ve got a real knack to make a forest scene almost look like you expect fairies and butterflies to start wandering about.

    Comment by aullori | July 25, 2007 | Reply

  12. Thanks for all the comments, the water had been down pretty bad all summer, but I got lucky and got some rain the night before and it helped out a lot.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 25, 2007 | Reply

  13. Hi Bernie, Just have a look at your site. You have some great work here. I especially like the way you’ve captured the motion of the water on this shot.

    Comment by jonb49 | July 25, 2007 | Reply

  14. The water looks like it belongs in a dream. Love it!!

    Smiles,
    Tina
    http://www.PhlogThat.com

    Comment by phlogthat | July 26, 2007 | Reply

  15. superb, bernie. this one can’t get any better.

    Comment by sabinche | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  16. Thanks for sharing !

    It’s a very beautiful and well captured photo ! Love the silky river water flow !

    Love your outdoor landscapes, really wonderful that your regions have such wonderful beautiful locations!

    JH
    http://wwww.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  17. Your photography is simply stunning

    Excellent article here!

    Comment by roentarre | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  18. Superb exposure! excellent composed 🙂

    Comment by neeZhom | February 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

