Madison Indiana Photography

“Electric Blue”


Shot of a very up close and personal Iris, shot this at extremely shallow 2.8 and tried to use the stamens as a focus point, I really liked how the blue and the colors of the stamen seemed to pop off the screen. This is another one that looks real nice blown up to around 13×19. Thanks for taking a look.

iris-2.jpg

July 27, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, DSLR, flora, flowers, image, images, life, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random, thoughts

19 Comments »

  1. Wow. Fantastic shot. I’m just…wow.

    Comment by HeyJules | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. Ok, stop already with the great shots! I could paper my walls with your photos, you are amazing!

    Comment by Brian | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. How bout dat mohawk? Beautiful photo Bernie. Shots like this really help us to fully appreciate these beautiful flowers. The thing I love about digital is the things you see a lot of the times when you get back to the studio and put the images on screen. It blows me away! Beautiful pic Bernie! Is this the one you were telling me about?

    Comment by paintingartist | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thats the one Boyd, my basic philosophy is to shoot a ton of images on a subject and do my editing back in my office, I had set the camera to bracket and shot about 50 shots of this one image. After a lot of time with my nose stuck to the monitor I came up with this shot, I spend way more time behind the computer now but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  5. Oooh, beautiful macro, Bernie!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  6. You got skillz. I can only imagine what you may pull off if we find some birds of paradise or wild orchids in bloom upon your arrival. We are firing up the boat this weekend in case you want to try to macro barracuda teeth. Hehe.

    Comment by conchlife | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  7. Gorgeous. When I think of iris, I think of my grandmother..and my mother. My grandmother used to enter hers in contests and we have many metals from the 1960’s for her blooms.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Lori | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  8. It’s certainly a different viewpoint, Bernie! Not something I’ve seen previously with irises. ‘Dat mohawk’ is a winner, such detail and fine lighting. Love it! ;o)

    Comment by janina | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  9. Absolutely beautiful, Bernie! I greatly appreciate both your great photos and your comments about how you shot them. It’s a learning experience for me!

    Comment by montucky | July 28, 2007 | Reply

  10. wow! amazing, lovely, beautiful….
    great work Bernie!

    Comment by ankush | July 28, 2007 | Reply

  11. That is fabulous – it reminds me more of deep ocean water… it’s lovely. You know what it is but just barely.

    Comment by aullori | July 28, 2007 | Reply

  12. Catching up on some of your posts after a couple of weeks. Nice work as usual.

    Comment by forestrat | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  13. I so agree with the blue coloring! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  14. Hey Bernie, you been posting some really nice images, well done.

    Comment by Mike Moats | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  15. Oh my Bernie. What a Vibrant blue color, and the accent of yellow is just lovely!!

    smiles,
    tina =).

    http://www.PhlogThat.com

    Comment by phlogthat | July 30, 2007 | Reply

  16. Bernie, I don’t know how I missed this amazing floral macro before. It is rich in color and absolutely stunning! I’ve tried many times to photograph irises up close, but they seem so shiny and the light never cooperates. I don’t call a shot perfect very often, but I can’t imagine how you could have captured it more beautifully.

    Your work is a blessing to viewers!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  17. This is great! I love your flora images! I also love to photograph flowers and it’s always my goal to get closer and closer and closer to the flowers! Beautiful work!

    Comment by photodeldia | March 20, 2008 | Reply

  18. Thank you for the beautiful images. I love them! Wish I could hit the road and visit the areas you depict. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by deb | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  19. Very stunning, great details, so beautiful 🙂

    Comment by neeZhom | June 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

