Madison Indiana Photography

“Is it Summer or Fall”


A friend and I took a hike up Clifty Creek today, after all the rain this week we had a little water flow not really enough for the big falls,  but I was able to get some intimate water shots. On this one I tried to make you guess a little on the time of year, of course it is summer, but with the dry conditions  we have had a few of the poplar leaves have changed color and dropped and I was looking for a fall like shot.

I don’t know how these two little guys just happened to make their way to this spot on the creek, but I will take or make a shot any way I can. This is a very wide rapid in the creek and I should be able to return later this fall and capture some very nice images. It was a really nice day for a hike and I was happy to be able to enjoy it with a good friend and get a couple images to boot.

                                                                                                         summer-cascade-4.jpg

July 29, 2007 - Posted by | art, blogging, Clifty Falls, DSLR, flowers, hiking, images, landscapes, life, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random, travel, waterfalls

9 Comments »

  1. fabulous compsition (i’d comment on the fall tech. you use but that’s gotta be getting old) really beautiful.

    Comment by aullori | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  2. Another very pleasing photo. It has a relaxing quality
    to it.

    Comment by montucky | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks for the comments, I was shooting this under overcast conditions and I was having some white balance issues, not sure if I like how it turned out.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  4. This is lovely. The leaves really make the picture and I love how the water flows so smoothly (or so it appears) over the rocks. Looks like you have a backyard filled with wonderful photo opportunities.

    Comment by Lori | July 29, 2007 | Reply

  5. Poplar trees are some of my favorites. I love the bark and the leaves are so simple yet expressive. I really like your use of color limiting it really to the two leaves. A very strong composition.

    Comment by paintingartist | July 30, 2007 | Reply

  6. wow i love this photo. you have placed those two leaves in the perfect place. i like how you have framed the photo. beautiful composition as well. nicely done!

    Comment by ankush | July 30, 2007 | Reply

  7. Another gorgeous shot. Just curious, what ISO did you use in this one? You live in a beautiful area, Bernie. If I were you I’d never leave home without my camera.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | July 30, 2007 | Reply

  8. I shot this one at 100 ISO Bonnie, it was still pretty light when I shot this and I was trying everything to get my ss down, also used a polarizing filter as well. This was also shot at about 1.5 sec at f/16.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | July 30, 2007 | Reply

  9. wonderful shot. i love all your pics from this series.

    Comment by sabinche | July 31, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

