Madison Indiana Photography

“Clifty Creek Abstract”


This one came from my hike the other day up Clifty Creek, tried a different comp on this one hopefully emphasizing the lines and textures of the moving water, I wasn’t happy with color of the water so I converted it to B&W. I shot this one at f/16 with a shutter speed of 1.5 seconds, my ISO was set at 100 as well, I like the almost silver look to the water and the varying paths it seems to be leading. Thanks for taking a look. Btw compression is killing this one a little bit, because is sizing down the horizontal side.

summer-cascade-5.jpg

July 31, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, Clifty Falls, hiking, image, images, indiana, landscapes, life, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random, travel

14 Comments »

  1. This entire site is fab, I love it , and I love your photogragh…..excellent eye….t

    Comment by toni | July 31, 2007 | Reply

  2. Nice photograph. Always love the mystical look of the long water exposure.

    Comment by GrfxGuru | July 31, 2007 | Reply

  3. Looks like a painting in truth.

    Comment by Brian | July 31, 2007 | Reply

  4. I think your photos are brilliant. You must live in a lovely part of the world too!

    Comment by Su | July 31, 2007 | Reply

  5. Very nice, Bernie! You do water so very well! I also greatly appreciate your description of how you shot it.

    Comment by montucky | July 31, 2007 | Reply

  6. I have to admit I’m rather enamored with the silver effects in the falls as well. That is beautiful. I’d tell you why I’m so thrilled that you shared your specs with us (but it’s a long story that simply sums down to me not taking notes when I got the “perfect” shot.) Thank you!!! It is so nice to see someone who loves nature photograph it.

    Comment by aullori | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  7. Very gorgeous!

    Comment by Beth Ellen Nagle | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  8. wow, i love it. very nice work on the exposure – the highlight areas are not blown out and the darker areas have detail as well. very nicely down Bernie!

    Comment by ankush | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  9. everyday i’m impressed by your photos, especially those with water, they’re so dream-like. thanks for sharing.

    smiles,
    tina

    http://www.PhlogThat.com

    Comment by phlogthat | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  10. Thanks again for the comments hope you are all doing well, I am really trying to be more attentive to my techs when I get an image, usually I just shoot and move on. I will really try to post my work flow and what I am trying to accomplish if you think it would be helpful.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  11. Captured just as it should be, simply and beautifully!

    Comment by paintingartist | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  12. Wonderful image Bernie. It looks fantastic in black and white.

    Comment by jonb49 | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  13. This is a wonderful image. Beautiful!

    Comment by roentarre | July 3, 2009 | Reply

  14. Nice photo ! Love the silky waters flowing ! B&W gives it a different feel of the water !

    Can feel the peace and tranquility 🙂

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | July 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

