Madison Indiana Photography

“Classic Columbine”


Spring shot of a wild columbine, I like the sweeping curves of the stems and the placement of the secondary bud, it’s hard to find them set up this nice ( at least for me). I was using a 80-400 lens shot at around 300, which gave me real good separation from the bg, also shot at about f/8 with 1/50 sec ss. I think columbines are my favorite wildflowers to shoot, if it is the least bit windy you are sunk, but if conditions are right they can be a joy to capture. Thanks for taking a look.

wild-columbine-org.jpg

August 1, 2007 - Posted by | art, blogging, Clifty Falls, columbine, DSLR, flora, flowers, hiking, image, images, indiana wildflowers, macro, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, wildflowers

10 Comments »

  1. Bernie, I love a good green background–there’s something rich and soothing about it. This Columbine image is dainty – another stunning image that I’ve come to expect from a visit to your site. (By the way, I’ve added you to my “Favorite Photoblogs” list at Photo Buffet.)

    Comment by Photo Buffet | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. It’s amazing how such a delicate and beautiful flower can withstand the harsh elements.

    Comment by Brian | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. Gorgeous shot of a beautiful subject!

    Comment by montucky | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  4. i agree about the placement of the secondary bud, i also like the softness of the background, nice colors. what was your approximate distance from the subject?

    Comment by ankush | August 1, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thanks for all the comments guys, Ankush I believe I was about 3-4 feet away when I shot this, I hope that helps.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 2, 2007 | Reply

  6. Great capture of an elegant beauty.

    Comment by paintingartist | August 2, 2007 | Reply

  7. Not only do I love it I’m completely envious! Of the shot as well as finding one (rumor has it they are in these parts but so far I have yet to see one 😦 Yeah okay I’m pouting…) Meanwhile, this is such a soft and breathtaking shot – and how perfect could a subject be? I love the second blossom in the photo as much as the first. It almost lets the viewer know how the plant blooms. Lovely.

    Comment by aullori | August 2, 2007 | Reply

  8. Hey Bernie, I have a small patch of Columbine in a woods where I shoot but its always to windy when I’m there. It doesn’t take much wind to move these delicate flowers. Great shot here.

    Comment by Mike Moats | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  9. A very elegant composition here Bernie. I am going to spy on Mike I think because I haven’t found these locally near me yet.

    Comment by Mark | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  10. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

    Comment by music | January 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

