Madison Indiana Photography

“The Golden Glow of Fall”


It’s 100 degrees and I hate summer, so I thought I would post one from last fall, I shot this in the Elkmont section of The Great Smokey Mountains. The trees weren’t up to their usual spectacular colors, but after a lot of hiking I was able to come across this scene right about sunset, the stream was lined with a large group of beautiful maple trees that were bursting with golden yellow leafs that left this cascade baked with this golden glow.

The camera was set at f/16 with a ss of 1 second and the ISO at 160, I was able to get great color and detail, keep a nice flow in the water and not blow out the highlights. I got quite a few nice images from this one spot, after searching for 4 days and coming up empty, but if you are persistent good things or “luck” will fall your way. I will head that way again this fall, and hopefully the colors will be amazing, but if not I will just enjoy the time outdoors and I am sure something good will fall my way. Thanks for taking a look.

elkmont-rapid-1.jpg

August 9, 2007 - Posted by | art, DSLR, flora, flowers, hiking, image, images, landscapes, life, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, thoughts, waterfalls

15 Comments »

  1. Wow! I think 4 days is not too much of a price to pay for that shot!

    Comment by montucky | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  2. This is amazing – it’s like a river of gold. I betcha this kind of image is what was in the dreams of the boys who came over this way because of the gold rush. How do I say it? (words often time fail don’t they?) this is absolutely spectacular!

    Comment by aullori | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  3. Another excellent shot Bernie. You’ve capture the motion in the water perfectly.

    Comment by jonb49 | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  4. It is hard to keep up that persistence when it is this hot and humid out. I suppose that is a good reason why my photographi c day is ending around 9 am lately!.

    The gold colors here definitely give this a unique character Bernie. I like that you can also see some hints of the same color in the rocks.

    Comment by Mark | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  5. Love the gold color.

    Comment by Brian | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  6. I just love them goldish colors! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  7. A real beauty of a composition. Nice how you did not lose the colors while processing. I could look at water and clouds endlessly. I think you love water as much as I do clouds and I love water a lot.

    Comment by paintingartist | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  8. beautiful photo Bernie. i love the ‘golden glow’ in the water.

    Comment by ankush | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  9. Hey Bernie, really nice image, the color pops in the water. I agree about summer it sucks when it gets over 80 degrees. I’m like Mark, I shoot from dawn till about 9:00 then head to the air con.

    Comment by Mike Moats | August 10, 2007 | Reply

  10. Thanks for all the comments guys, it won’t be long till we will be shooting fall colors.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 10, 2007 | Reply

  11. So it’s been 100 degrees out there lately? Whoa. Try to stay off the lakes during a lighting storm… 😮

    Comment by Richard | August 10, 2007 | Reply

  12. Very nice Bernie. Shooting water without losing detail in the surrounding stones and at the same time not blowing out at the top end is a real trick sometimes.

    Comment by forestrat | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  13. wonderful image … the color on the water is amazing

    Comment by crash | August 20, 2007 | Reply

  14. Your photography is awesome. I agree that the color on the water is amazing.

    It is also interesting that you are from Madison. I used to visit a relative there as a child, Mrs. Whitset. She lived in an old house perfectly preserved from the gay nineties with high poster canopied beds. I loved staying there.

    I also loved Clifty park. And even going along the roads with the falling rock signs.

    Visiting here brought back memories. Thanks.

    Comment by jolynna | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  15. Love this photo ! Brilliant capture ! Can feel the peace and tranquility !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | October 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

