Madison Indiana Photography

“Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory”


This is a couple attempts at butterfly photography, I have tried this in the wild with no luck, so I thought I would give it another try with some captive butterflies. I didn’t know what to expect when I got there but needless to say I was very impressed with this facility. Once again my timing was off and I arrived when the place was full of people wanting to get shots of their own, I didn’t have a choice so it was now or never.

First off the people who ran the place were extremely helpful and encouraged me to shoot as much as possible, the room was full of the most beautiful butterflies I have ever seen, and when I set my tripod up I thought I had hit the jackpot. But then the tour-ons moved in, everywhere I set up people would come and talk and ask questions, you know what I mean. After a while it got pretty old but I continued on hoping for some great shots.

The light was not real productive as well, the place was enclosed in some type of glass or plastic which led to some real contrasting light, so I finally went hand held and shot a lot of these shots at 2.8-8 and sacrificed a lot of detail on some of the images. The top image was 2.8 and the next one was 8. I didn’t have my sb-800 with me so I didn’t use anything but natural light, even after all that I was still happy with some of my results.

I talked with the staff and they kindly gave me some info on what time of the day to come to really work the place right and what type of equipment to use, like I said they didn’t have to be so helpful but they were and I was very appreciative of that. It is a wonderful place to visit and if ever in the Keys it is a must stop for anyone(even the tour-ons). BTW I have no idea what type of butterflies these were I was in to much of hurry to get any info, next time I will do better on my ID.

butterfly-conservatory-2.jpg


butterfly-conservatory-1.jpg

August 22, 2007 - Posted by | art, blogging, Butterfly, image, images, Key West, landscapes, life, macro, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, thoughts, travel

18 Comments »

  1. They are stunning!

    Comment by growthumbs | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wow. That’s all I can say. It is very helpful to try doing this and then come here and see how it is done.

    Comment by davidlind | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. These are such amazing photos of this butterfly! I love its eyes! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. You might enjoy the Pacific Grove Monarch Reserve in California. I think they are there from October til March. They hang off the trees by the hundreds. There’s a few other places on the coast too.

    Comment by Richard | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Great captures Bernie. I was wondering what happened to Marty Feldman. Ron

    Comment by rtd13 | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  6. Those are both really nice shots. That butterfly is really pretty and the background is superb. That’s a really classy shot!

    Comment by montucky | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  7. I was able to take a few pictures of wild monarchs at the garden. Very tough to do as you said. I like how you posed the butterfly next to the berries. 🙂

    Comment by Brian | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  8. I love the up close encounter with the top one. The bottom one is just beautiful. Glad to see you dipping into shooting a few of these stealthy dudes. They can be a pain for sure!

    Comment by BoydGreeneArt | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  9. wow Bernie these are beautiful. i love the detail on the first one!

    Comment by ankush | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  10. I too have suffered the frustration of taking shots of butterflies. I’ve found they will sit on the flower – drinking nectar just long enough for your camera to come on – and then flutter off. Thus, I admire what must have been a great deal of persistence on your part. What lovely shots Bernie!

    Comment by aullori | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  11. Great work down south. Have you seen the leaks about nikon announcing a new camera (d300/D3) tonight or tomorrow? I hope its true and let the races begin!

    Comment by rebphotog | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  12. WOW I am glad to see the photos. Any chance they are for sale?

    Comment by Dennis | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  13. Thanks for all the comments,

    Thats great Jimmy, just don’t tell my wife.

    Everything is for sale Dennis.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  14. Have you tried capturing Rajah Brooke butterflies? They are beautiful. So are the Atlas Moths

    Comment by swee | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  15. The detail, color is superb! Your work is very inspiring.

    Comment by Beth Ellen Nagle | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  16. I absolutely love that first shot Bernie.

    Comment by Mark | August 24, 2007 | Reply

  17. Bernie,
    It’s awfully difficult to get macro photos in the wild. At least form. But these shots are great. Keep it up.
    Larry
    http:”reflecting.larryhollon.com

    Comment by lhollon | September 4, 2007 | Reply

  18. Bernie, I have butterfly-on-the-brain, and searched your blog for butterfly shots. These are spectacular! Which lens did you use for the first one? You really captured his stance–amazingly sharp detail!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | July 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

