Madison Indiana Photography

“B&W Beach”

Shot this Mangrove Tree along a isolated stretch of beach in Long Key State Park, the bright sand and deep blue skies made it a natural for a conversion.


August 23, 2007 - Posted by | art, blogging, hiking, image, images, Key West, landscapes, life, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, thoughts, travel


  1. You take great pictures. Does the type of camera really affect the picture you take, or is it simply the person behind a camera?

    Comment by smilie29 | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. That’s striking! I love that kind of scene.

    Comment by montucky | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. I think a little bit of both, it’s nice to have nice equipment, but if you have a good eye for it you can do just as well without all the expensive gear.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thanks Terry.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. Lovely photo! I can almost feel the water lapping over my toes. The image brings back memories of south Florida and the familiar aromas of the coast. Thanks!

    Comment by laway2007 | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. Loving the B&W Bernie. Color is great but nothing is as dramatic as the B&Ws. Ron.

    Comment by rtd13 | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  7. Wow, a great shot to be sure. I guess it took you all of 2 seconds to figure it was me huh? It’s midnight and i’m still trying to nail down the details of the new body & lenses. talk at u later!

    Comment by rebphotog | August 23, 2007 | Reply


    Comment by Alina | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  9. hey bern, check out rob galbraith’s web site for the specs. short of it 2 bodies d300 12.4 d3 12.0 full frame with 2 card slots in the camera wired for 300 speed cards, thats awesome! d300 $1800/d3 $5k. also 5 new lenses! later!

    Comment by rebphotog | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  10. I can feel the heat shimmering.

    Comment by Brian | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  11. This is really gorgeous!

    Comment by Beth Ellen Nagle | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  12. What is so special about this shot is the use of the grays! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  13. wow, very nice!

    Comment by ankush | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  14. This is a really cool photo – once again I had to take a look step back and then look again. Prolly it’s old age creeping into my mind. :) What I find fascinating is how clear these shots are .. this also makes for a really cool conversion as well. This shot pretty much says to me “isolation” and “timelessness.” Once again Bernie – wow!

    Comment by aullori | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  15. Hey Bernie, you got some awesome images from your trip.

    Comment by Mike Moats | August 23, 2007 | Reply

  16. Awesome Bernie.

    I love how you placed the tree barely off center to the left. Love your black and white points as well. Clouds are dreamy. I think that is what Key West is for anyways, dreaming.

    Comment by paintingartist | August 24, 2007 | Reply

  17. Bernie, this is one of those b/w’s that take your breath away. The contrast is amazing, and I can imagine what that sky looked like in color. You know, a good photographer recognizes (as you did) which images would look great converted to black and white. This one is perfect for it. Wow.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | August 24, 2007 | Reply

  18. HI! I came upon this site by trying to look up a friend from my teen years. I know a guy named Terry Kasper from Madison. I believe he is about 42 yrs old. His mother’s name is Sherry and she married my neighbor Jim Ponsler, I think his brothers names were Chuck and Tim. Anyway , was just curious about how he was doing. Hopefully o.k. Last I new he was in the Army? or some other branch of the service.

    Oh, and I think your pictures all great!
    Sincerely, Cindy Brooks

    Comment by Cindy (Greer) Brooks | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  19. Cindy..I can’t tell you much about him, he was a distant cousin and I really never spent much time with him.

    Thanks for the compliment though, take care !

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 21, 2008 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 536 other followers

