Madison Indiana Photography

“Blue Ridge Mountains”


Shot last spring from the Blue Ridge Parkway in North Carolina, I captured this image right after a thunderstorm around sunset, the storm left an already blue mountain scene take on a even bluer tone. I really love the layering ridge views in these mountains and the mystical look they convey when viewing them, I haven’t captured many images from these mountains in the last few years that I have been happy with, but this one is not bad.

I think we may try to swing down into that area this fall, if they get any rain, it has been pretty dry down there as of late. I am starting to really tire of summer and I am ready for fall, I think I will start to post some fall images and maybe that will help to usher summer out and bring fall on a little quicker(Right!!)

_dsc0035.jpg

August 28, 2007 - Posted by | art, blogging, Blue Ridge Mountains, hiking, image, images, landscapes, life, mountains, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, travel

20 Comments »

  1. Beautiful! Would make a very unique scenic quilt. That is what I do when Hubby and I aren’t hiking or geocaching. :}

    Comment by geocachiker | August 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wonderful shot Bernie. I like that you have that thicker cloud layer in this – makes it a bit different. I will never get tired of this view.

    Don’t forget to lay the fall images on the floor and dance around them. I have read that helps. 😉

    Comment by Mark | August 28, 2007 | Reply

  3. You are making me very jealous! I have tentative plans to go there next year and this is making me want to move that trip up! Beautiful!

    Comment by HeyJules | August 28, 2007 | Reply

  4. It is beautiful Jules, thanks for stopping by.

    Mark, if that works could I try money next?

    Thanks for stopping by Geocachiker.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 28, 2007 | Reply

  5. Wow, that’s getting a lot out of color. Those mountains have that name for a reason! I imagine photographing that area would have its own set of challenges. Beautiful shot!

    Comment by montucky | August 28, 2007 | Reply

  6. Wow, this is literally the Blue Ridge Mountains. Great shot. When I was in the high school concert band, we played this song called Blue Ridge Saga and I always had these visions of country scenes with streams flowing thru them.

    Comment by Richard | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  7. wow, this is an amazing photo Bernie! i feel like i can look at it for hours…

    Comment by ankush | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  8. Pretty cool Bernie. Pretty much every shade of blue. Ron.

    Comment by rtd13 | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  9. Very beautiful shot Bernie.

    Try posting some rain shots and see if you can bring some rain to our area. If it don’t improve rapidly the Smokies landscape photos are not going to be too great if you are shopping for color. The heat and dry weather is taking its toll very quickly.

    Comment by paintingartist | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  10. I hear you Boyd, we have had a very hot summer but believe it or not we have had an overabundance of rain, go figure. I know when I traveled down I-75 it was very brown and dry, so we may have to change plans and head somewhere else. Keep me updated on your conditions if you don’t mind, thanks.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  11. Hey Bernie, very cool layers, must have been cool to be there.

    Comment by Mike Moats | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  12. Wow, that is such an interesting shot and I love those blue colors!! Bravo!

    Comment by mon@rch | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  13. This is a wonderful shot Bernie. I’d say something trite like you’ve outdone yourself but you’ll just make me a liar.

    Comment by aullori | August 29, 2007 | Reply

  14. You will be close to where we are and where we plan to go this fall as well. Show me how it’s done!

    Comment by davidlind | August 30, 2007 | Reply

  15. Wow – this is beautiful – love the blues!

    Comment by kml | August 30, 2007 | Reply

  16. The colour you have shown here is definitely wonderful!

    Comment by roentarre | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  17. The blue colour effect really give this photo something very special, very unique !

    This photo would definitely look great during sunset & sunrise !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | June 13, 2009 | Reply

  18. Great shot.

    Comment by Descartes | June 14, 2009 | Reply

  19. Do you ever sell this image electronically? I would be interested in using it for the cover of an invitation for a non-profit organization. Thanks for the reply. Bee Mills

    Comment by Bee Mills | June 15, 2009 | Reply

  20. Yes I do sell them, you can e-mail me at kasperbernie@hotmail.com if you are interested.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | June 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

