Madison Indiana Photography

“Minimalistic Mum”


I am not really up on my art terms, but when I shot this I was trying to reduce this mum bloom down to it’s bare essentials,  stripping it of any noticeable semblance of it’s former self.  I was hoping that the only thing left was a little form and color,  it was shot at f/2.8 at 1/15 sec. iso 125, I focused on the stamens just past the petals in the fg.

Am I right about this being minimalistic,  if not please correct me,  I was just wondering what your thoughts on this image were and if it meets the criteria for being minimalistic.

mum-2.jpg

September 5, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, flora, flower photography, flowers, image, images, macro, macro photography, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, thoughts

22 Comments »

  1. I couldn’t tel you if it’s minimalistic but it is absoulutely beautiful. Ron.

    Comment by rtd13 | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. just amazing colors that you are able to capture with this! WOW! Can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

    Comment by mon@rch | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  3. Fantastic color as usual! You have the knack of making color tell the story. I also very much appreciate your notes on how you set up for it!

    Comment by montucky | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the comments guys, if I can be responsible enough I will try to show my settings as much as I can, and also how I set up the shot if it helps.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  5. absoluely gorgeous colors.. works 4 me Bernie.. and thanks so very much 4 your supportve posts, each was/is appreciated so much.

    Comment by Cindy | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  6. I probably wouldn’t call this minimalistic, but I would most definitely call it stunning and beautiful!

    Comment by Minna | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  7. Yes, I like the effect very much. It looks as though you have posterised it in photoshop, or did it come off the camera like that?

    Comment by 6project | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  8. Bernie, shooting wide open brings such a soothing softness to this image. Beautiful!

    I would call it macro before I’d call it minimalistic, though. If you Google “photography+minimalism,” you’ll find galleries of minimalistic art. Here’s one that strips it down to the basics:
    http://ken-murray-photo.exto.nl/gallery/objects/id/112045.html

    Whatever it’s called, your work is lovely.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  9. Thanks for the link Bonnie, beautiful work on that site.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  10. I think so Bernie, on its being minimalistic.

    What a beaut! It is as though you have built a fire in the middle of your photo. Awesome job Bernie!

    Comment by paintingartist | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  11. You know what I love about this one? It’s that one back petal on the upper right side that curls…it pulls your eye right past the perfectly focused yellow and right up the side of its curve.

    Perfect!

    Comment by HeyJules | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  12. Great shot, i love your macro shots about flowers. Great composition, shades and colours.

    Comment by Tiziano | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  13. awesome shot Bernie. i am not sure if i would call it minimalistic though, either way, it is a fabulous photo, i love the selective focus, and the colors are just amazing, i seem to have a special connect with the purple/magenta family of colors. very nicely done!

    Comment by ankush | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  14. Thanks for all the comments , especially from you Cindy, I know about the last thing on your mind is one of my images and for you to even stop by is a honor!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  15. I have no clue about the ‘minimalistic’ aspect, but regardless, it’s a beautiful shot.

    Comment by Lori | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  16. Wow! It doesnt matter if it is minimalistic or not. What matters is, THIS IS A VERY BEAUTIFUL shot!

    Take care!

    Comment by Jay | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  17. Really nice shot bernie.

    Comment by aullori | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  18. Google’s Personalized Homepage allows you to add all kinds of Gadgets. I Think you should consider making one for your images. I included an exsample of a image gadget in the Website url.

    Comment by Betty | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  19. Bernie, do you do any post processing? I find that my purples do not come out very well when I am using digital. What do you do to get your purples so rich?

    Comment by cruxphoto | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  20. Nate…I set my white balance to a cool temp so it would give it a more blueish tone and then used a cooling filter, I know what you mean about the purples they are hard to show very accurately sometimes.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  21. That is a beautiful shot. My favorite colors too. 🙂 Nice work.

    Comment by Jordan | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  22. Stunning colors, Bernie. This is a really special image.

    Bobbie

    Comment by The Right Blue | September 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

