Madison Indiana Photography

“Calla Lily”


Bought a Calla Lily the other day and got a few shots out of it, just looking for a little feedback on this one, I shot this one as more of abstract instead of the whole flower any thoughts or suggestions? I am not sure what I think of this one, I have never had much luck shooting Calla Lilies, do this work as a B&W and how does the comp look in it as well. Thanks for taking a look.

calla-lily-bw-2.jpg

September 13, 2007 - Posted by | art, B&W, blogging, calla lily, flora, flowers, image, images, indiana wildflowers, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photography, photos, pictures, random

55 Comments »

  1. Reminds me of a sharp dressed man in a fine suit about to smoke a cigar!:)

    Very nice in black and white. I always like to see a photographer do closeups as they are very personal telling much about the way they think.

    If I changed anything I would tone down the highlight in the upper right corner just so the texture would be more in line with the rest of the photo because I like the softness you have captured.

    Awesome job!

    Comment by paintingartist | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. whoa. It looks like a tuxedo that never stops. That is amazing!

    Comment by Richard | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. I agree with paintingartist, but it reminds me of a woman in a white dress dancing in the moonlight. Kind of a ” Casa Blanca” look and feel to it.

    Comment by 35mm_man | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. excellent! i could imagine this as a fine art print on any of my walls at home.

    Comment by sabinche | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. Haven’t had luck with Calla’s myself. This is beautiful as an abstract though.

    Comment by Brian | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. stunning shot of this lily! Bravo!

    Comment by mon@rch | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Some of my favorite photographs of my fathers are his versions of calla lilies – and this one is right up there. It definitely has a “tuxedo” feel to it but I especially love how lined it is on the bottom and how fluid it gets at the top. Very nice.

    Comment by HeyJules | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. What a classy and rich looking photo! If you didn’t have luck before that has now changed, this is beautiful.

    I would love to see another shot of this Cala laying on his side.

    Comment by truddle | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. I think it’s great. It’s a very elegant look. It makes you concentrate on the lines rather than the colors.

    Comment by cruxphoto | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  10. magnific game of lines and shadows. i like it very much

    best wishes and good shots

    see u again.

    Comment by pedro cardona | September 13, 2007 | Reply

  11. I am beginning to think you are a racist. All of this Black and White imagery while completely ignoring our brown Latin neighbors to the South. No sepia work at all. Seriously, this shot is awesome. I could definitely see this hanging in a Duval Street Gallery with three zeros on the price tag. I am no artist, but this just looks very elegant.

    Comment by conchlife | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  12. It turned into an elegant abstract. Beautiful work!

    Comment by montucky | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  13. wow, this is a beautiful photo Bernie, i think it totally works in b&w, although i am also curious as to how it looks in color. i really like the ‘abstract’ nature of the photo. the curves, the veins, parallel lines, just beautiful!

    Comment by ankush | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  14. I have to tell ya Bernie, my jaw hit the floor when I saw this. Absolutely stunning.

    Comment by Mark | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  15. I have one word; Amazing! Anything else would just produce inconsistent babbling leading to obvious intense admiration that would sound too much like idol worshipping for me to feel comfortable in Church on Sunday. This photo is so perfect it probably should have never been seen by human eyes.

    Comment by aullori | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  16. Wow! The black and white really brings out the fine lines in the leaf and flower. Extremely well done!!

    Comment by kml | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  17. that is one fab image =)

    Comment by sardonicnell | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  18. I’m an optimist. I keep thinking there must be a woman in there somewhere.

    Comment by davidlind | September 15, 2007 | Reply

  19. Very retro Bernie, love it. Ron.

    Comment by rtd13 | September 15, 2007 | Reply

  20. Thanks for all the great comments guys, it does kinda have that tuxedo look to it, thanks for stopping by.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  21. Wow, Bernie. This is by far my favorite of all your work. Ask me next week and I’m sure I’ll have another. The b/w is very appealing, and those detailed lines have a formal touch. Very, very nice!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  22. Absolutely gorgeous!! Very abstract and modern with a soft edge. and great detail in the flowers and leaves.

    Just stumbled acrossed your blog, love the photographs!

    Comment by aernyc | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  23. Just found your blog and really like the abstract work – something I’ve never got into – but might try now!
    Just one comment on the Calla Lily – sorry it’s a bit negative – the highlights look slightly blown out on the image here but if they are not I’m sure it’s an image that will sell really well at a picture agency.
    Great work and it’s inspired me to have a go!

    Comment by paulrg | September 22, 2007 | Reply

  24. I love this shot. You’ve captured the graceful elegance of the calla lily.

    Comment by Marni | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  25. exellent pic!!! i love calla lilies!!!

    Comment by Crystal | February 14, 2008 | Reply

  26. i absolutely love this picture. as one person said, it draws attention to the lines of the lily which are very elegant.

    i’ve been looking at this wondering how to turn it into a tattoo.

    Comment by lucy | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  27. this is gorgeous! very artistic and from a fresh perspective. this is just the kind of photography i love.

    Comment by krobusto | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  28. Beautiful photo.I agree that the black and white definately looks more artistic and make more abstract and elegant than the colour.

    Comment by visuallens | May 6, 2008 | Reply

  29. i love this photo!! it’s rather sexual in a way. it reminds me of a naked woman salsa dancing or moving in a sensual manner in the moonlight–purely curves and silky skin

    Comment by annika | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  30. Excellent us of light and dark-a great image.

    Comment by Descartes | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  31. This is a top notch photo!

    Comment by Jordan | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  32. This photo of the Calla Lily is indeed very unique, not just because it is B&W, the perspective makes it very special.

    Very artistic, your photo gives me the impression that it is a vase with leaves around it !

    I like your perspective and angle on how you take beautiful flowers !

    Comment by JH | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  33. I really like the subject and the lines and colors. The cropping seems a bit different but it is still beautiful.

    Comment by davidlind | August 1, 2008 | Reply

  34. zdsjdbfhkl/trngkjebh wow

    Comment by lilly lover | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  35. this photo is arousing

    Comment by lilly lover | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  36. wow. I love this picture! I could sit and stare for hours. By taking away an immediate knowledge of what it was by cropping it close, you brought out the very sensual lines of the flower. It is beautiful.

    Comment by Kim | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  37. This is an absolutely beautiful photograph! As a graphics design major & lover of photography, this piece is breathtaking.

    Comment by Elizabeth | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  38. I love it its amazing.

    Comment by Azucena Rios | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  39. I live it its amazing..

    Comment by Azucena Rios | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  40. Wow… I’m not one to normally comment on these. This is a beautiful shot. It gives the illusion of the dramatic curves from one of the early 20th Century Wood print artist.

    Comment by Aaron | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  41. Wow, this is a very beautiful capture.

    Comment by Jeffrey | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  42. So very beautiful!

    Comment by lynnwiles | January 26, 2009 | Reply

  43. Very Georgio O’Keefe, I like!

    Comment by Katherine | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  44. I was very impressed with this photo. Its fantastic! I was so inspired I decided to paint it. I gave the final product to a friend for a gift but I would love to have your permission to do a few more pieces incorporating this calla lilly. Thank you for your visionary.

    Comment by Mary Evelyn Coles | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  45. Breathtaking! And that is an understatement.

    I just happened across your site because I was curious about the fragrance/colors of a calla lily (my daughter’s favorite flower).

    Although this appears at face value to be a black and white offering, there are nuances of hues throughout. Starting with the obvious black and white, I also see silver, grey, pewter, cream, and a very pale yellow.

    It looks almost 3-D, especially so because of the fine veins that run up (down?) the bloom.

    Also, I am glad you decided not to shoot the entire flower. That would have made it “just another picture” of a calla lily.

    Comment by Mary | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  46. sharp

    Comment by Anonymous | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  47. Hey pretty cool. Do you sell this print?

    Comment by Draya16 | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  48. It looks like the ruffles of a blouse..love it. Agree with the first comment, I would tone down the highlights in the top right of the flower….great shot, great composition and balance.

    Comment by Julie York | July 31, 2009 | Reply

  49. Truly amazing!

    Comment by Anonymous | September 1, 2009 | Reply

  50. I’m not much of much of a photographer at all….but I feel this picture shows true beauty of this flower…..making it black and white was a good decision becuase it helps to accent the flower’s details.

    Comment by Hannah Joy | September 18, 2009 | Reply

  51. This is beautiful..breath-taking touch of art to the calla lily..

    Comment by Anonymous | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  52. Hi Bernie,

    I am a watercolor artist from Buckhorn, Ontario, Canada. Today I was looking for inspiration to paint calla lilies and came upon your photo. I like to paint my flowers in an untypical fashion as it immediately attracts the viewer and makes them think. I believe your photo does the same thing. It also sets you apart from all the other calla lily photographers and shows you have a special eye for artistic beauty. I may even try and paint this picture at some point. If I do I will send you a picture so that you can see how you inspired me.
    Cheers Debra

    Comment by Debra Bannister | April 24, 2010 | Reply

  53. Wow. This is stunning. Beautiful shot. I love the texture and the fluidity. Simply gorgeous. Amazing feel to this photo. Just, wow.

    Comment by IZTAES | May 29, 2010 | Reply

  54. mind if i do a painting based on this photo? its beautiful and i love the composition.

    Comment by jerry | December 30, 2010 | Reply

  55. Truly exquisite, like a Georgia O’Keefe painting….taking a closer look at the curvilinear grace that’s inviting the viewer in to the rhythms of delicate sensuous enfoldment

    Comment by mildrenn | March 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

