Madison Indiana Photography

“Medusa’s Petals”


Shot this funky Gerbera daisy the other day, I tried a whole subject shot of the image and wasn’t happy,  so I scaled it down to an abstract and liked the overall results.  After viewing it on the computer I thought the petals held a slight resemblance to the Mythical creature Medusa,  at least I thought so, I shot this at 2.8, 1/2 second at iso 160. Thanks for taking a look.

gerbera-daisy-abstract-1.jpg

September 16, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, Clifty Falls, flora, flowers, image, images, indiana wildflowers, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random

14 Comments »

  1. Hi,

    Came across your blog while tag surfing. This is an absolutely beautiful picture — such a testimony of God’s creation. Thanks for sharing with the rest of us in “Blogdom”!

    Julie

    Comment by Julie | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks for stopping by and leaving the nice comment, I appreciate it Julie.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. absolutley breathtaking…thanks for sharing this…

    Comment by boyreese | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. You are doing some incredibly beautiful abstracts, Bernie. As usual, your use of color is outstanding!

    Comment by montucky | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  5. I am amazed not only by this photo – but also by your ability to produce one fantastic image after another. (Question; so have you sold your soul to anyone with a pitchfork lately?) {okay…okay teasing.} Once again Bernie, amazing work. The color in this is amazing!

    Comment by aullori | September 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. I think those yellow and blacks work so perfectly together! BRAVO

    Comment by mon@rch | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  7. wow, what a beautiful abstract macro shot Bernie. very nicely titled as well. lovely!

    Comment by ankush | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  8. Awesome! I love the colors. You have a master’s touch. You put the forms just where they need to be. The directional lines are superb.

    Comment by paintingartist | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  9. Absolutely GREAT photography, my compliments!

    Comment by Susanne in Key West | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  10. Hey Bernie…this is sharp and bright. Gerbera daisies are wonderful, aren’t they? They last forever, too. Last winter I was so desperate for flowers, I went out and bought a big bouquet and really got some mileage out of them.

    Beautiful work, as always.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  11. I think my favorite part is how soft the petals look in the background. I love the out of focus aspect of this image. It looks more like a sea anenome.

    Comment by cruxphoto | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  12. What a beautiful photograph, Bernie! I love its abstractness.

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  13. Bernie,

    Wonderful image! There is one thing that keeps jumping out to my eye thought…the edge of the petal sections that are in focus have this white edge to them. I’m not sure if you perhaps over sharpened the image before uploading or if that is just a digital display artifact. Not sure…but wanted to point it out to you. For some reason, that is the first thing that my eye jumps to.

    I enjoy your work, thanks for sharing! Keep up the great work.

    Comment by latoga | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  14. Bernie, I love this shot of the Gerber. It’s one of my favorite flowers to shoot. It has a look of fire almost. Also thank you for your comment on my site!

    Comment by Brenda | October 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

