Madison Indiana Photography

“White Water Falls”


Shot these falls last summer in North Carolina, they are located right on the border with South Carolina, it was very humid and bright when I shot this so the exposure was a pain to get. But after bracketing a ton of shots this one turned out all right, I shot it from a platform high above the falls, the lens I used was a 24-85 and I don’t think I ever got the perspective I was after. I shot this at f/25, at1/4 second with an iso 100 setting.

This area of North Carolina is absolutely beautiful, I was told there are more waterfalls here than in about anywhere is in America, it is a rugged beautiful countryside that I hope to return to in the near future. The falls in this image are over 400 feet tall, one of the highest in Eastern North America, if you get a chance and you are close by I would take a couple days and explore this part of the Southern Appalachians it is definitely worth the time and effort.

whitewater-falls-1.jpg

October 3, 2007 - Posted by | blogging, Blue Ridge Mountains, image, landscapes, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, travel, waterfalls | , ,

15 Comments »

  1. Bernie, the way you handle water just blows my mind. Great shot. Ron.

    Comment by rtd13 | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. I agree. That is a magnificent shot. And the contrast of the greenery with the water falling over the rocks is stunning.

    Comment by Bobbie | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. A beautiful photo of a beautiful place! I wish I had know about it when I was in that area in the mid 60’s!

    Comment by montucky | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. The water looks like molten metal being poured to make coins. This is a beautiful photo. This place must be about five hours from Richmond. Sounds like we ought to make the trip at some point.

    Comment by davidlind | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. I love this one 🙂
    The more i venture around blogs from the US, the more places i have to add to my ever increasing travel wish list.

    Comment by Claire | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  6. I love the action of the water that you captured! Those colors are perfect for sure! BRAVO

    Comment by mon@rch | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  7. An incredible waterfall. Very beautiful. It is amazing how many waterfalls there are. The Cherohala Skyway connects to part of it. I can’t wait to explore more of it. Nothing much compares to a waterfall.

    Comment by paintingartist | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  8. You have managed to make time stand still with this beautiful picture! It is like the water and trees took a deep breath and are holding it, waiting for you to finish with the picture. The more I look at it the more I like it!

    Comment by truddle | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  9. The splashes of yellow in opposite corners add nice variety to this Bernie.

    Comment by Mark | October 5, 2007 | Reply

  10. First time here. You take such wonderful photographs.

    Comment by Lisa | October 5, 2007 | Reply

  11. what a glorious waterfall – i can see why it captured your attention. Your photo of it is (once again) fabulous.

    Comment by aullori | October 5, 2007 | Reply

  12. this is a beautiful shot Bernie

    Comment by ankush | October 6, 2007 | Reply

  13. That is a special waterfall Bernie. So many cascades. North Carolina looks like a special place.

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 6, 2007 | Reply

  14. Wow – two water falls in a single spot – just beautiful!!

    Comment by kml | October 6, 2007 | Reply

  15. Thanks for all the comments guys.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

