“It’s Snowing in Indiana”


Just kidding….This is an image from last winter in Clifty Falls State Park in Madison Indiana, it was a beautiful day with temps not too cold to be out in but cold enough for snow, there was absolutely no noise a perfect day for shooting winter scenes.

I hiked up this creek till a found a suitable spot to capture the depth of the creek and the silence of the woods, I found a boulder midstream and shot about dozen images of this spot. The woods were so silent the only sound was that of my shutter triggering on my camera, it was a wonderful experience, one that every photographer should be able to enjoy.

The image itself was a processed raw file converted to B&W in CS2, I shot it at f/22, with a ss of 1/2 second at iso 100.

Just thought I would post something different, sometimes when I am cruising thru old files it brings back a pleasant memory that I like to relive, thanks for taking a look.

winter-hollow-2.jpg

19 thoughts on ““It’s Snowing in Indiana”

  1. montucky

    Very nice, Bernie! Beautiful! I know exactly what you mean about the silence of the snow and how that makes you feel.

    Reply
  2. barbara

    Thank you very much that it isn’t snowing in (Madison) Wisconsin, but your snowy photo is lovely as long as I can still see autumn colors from my window. Enjoy all your photography so much.

    Reply
  3. aullori

    I love the winter – about as much as fall. people ask me what’s your favorite season? I say fall, winter and spring. Winter is however the best. This has a real Ansel Adams quality to it – nothing like you usually post. I like it. (if I may be bold here? You seem to be investigating all aspects of your soul and it’s working … beautifully.) One great guy once told me all artist are revealing and if someone does not walk away from your art knowing something about you then you’ve failed. This was a success! Beautiful work!

    Reply
  4. HeyJules

    I know exactly what you mean…sometimes you see a certain photo and it just brings the most marvelous memory back. I love when that happens. If no one ever buys a print from me that will be okay with me – I get the best reward just from taking them.

    Reply
  5. conchlife

    Snow. It was 90 degrees in Indiana this weekend. The heat must be getting to you. Then again, you were probably wearing shorts when you took this picture. Great creek shot, wouldn’t it be cool if the Big River there in town froze again for some shots from the middle of the river?

    Reply
  6. Photo Buffet

    Bernie, this is such a serene scene. The sharpness doesn’t compete with the softness of the snow. I like it a lot. Your work is always a joy to see, and I know you’ll supply a lot more like these this winter (won’t you?).

    Reply
  7. Kat

    That’s an AWESOME picture! I don’t get much snow where I live (if any at all) so it’s great to see photos of the snow.

    BTW, YOU HAVE A HALLOWEEN TREAT OVER AT MY BLOG UNDER “Thanks for the treat Hootin’ Anni’s!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

