Madison Indiana Photography

“Another Visit to Happy Valley”


This is a shot from earlier this spring from one of my favorite spots in Southern Indiana, Happy Valley  a beautiful gorge that sits right below Hanover College, just outside Madison Indiana. This has to be one of the most picturesque spots in the Midwest, from just east of Madison all the way down to just above the Louisville Metro area, the hills and gorges that lead into the Ohio River are covered in massive hardwood forests.

When moisture is abundant, there are many seasonal waterfalls that cascade off the steep cliffs that line the valley, I was hoping to do an in depth shoot of the area but with the lack of rain and the early season freeze I don’t think conditions are going cooperate with me this fall. Still this is a place of incredible beauty, and many who visit are surprised by the rugged nature of this part of the state , and find it hard to believe that they are still in Indiana.

I don’t think I am going to take any fall photo trips this year, I think I am going to hang around here and hopefully get a few shots when and if the conditions present themselves to me. This year the early spring was wonderful and I was able to capture a bunch of great images in a few short days, maybe I will get lucky and it will happen again this year.

                                                                                 happy-valley-bluebells-4.jpg

October 13, 2007 - Posted by | Clifty Falls, flora, flowers, Hanover College, hiking, image, indiana, indiana wildflowers, landscapes, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, virginia bluebells, wildflowers

20 Comments »

  1. That’s such a beautiful shot, Bernie. It certainly captures the essence of spring time! Soon it will be a black and white world for awhile, and that scene will be very much on my mind.

    Comment by montucky | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. reaaly nice Bernie. besides the color I love the geometry.

    Comment by rtd13 | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. I think this is the nicest photo you’ve posted. The blues just pop, especially in the lower half of the photo. I really like how the texture of the photo changes from the top half to the bottom half. This photo is almost 3-dimensional. Great job. I hope that one day I will take a photo like this.

    Comment by Jim | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. Wonderful shot!
    I find it very hard to make a good composition in forests. You did it very well!

    Comment by Thomas | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. I just love these blue colors!

    Comment by mon@rch | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. Great shot Bernie. Definitely beautiful and sounds like a great place to visit. I love the strong foreground.

    My favorite Happy Valley is Joe Pa’s valley though!:)

    Comment by paintingartist | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. What a scene – those beautiful Blue Bells for as far as the eye can see. Beautifully captured!

    Comment by kml | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Another beauty! Thanks.

    Comment by Jaya | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. Excellent, Bernie. Great mix of textures and colors.

    Comment by Bobbie | October 13, 2007 | Reply

  10. Wow that is a beautiful place! This location in Indiana looks like a true place of beauty. Thanks for sharing this at BC.

    Comment by RecycleCindy | October 14, 2007 | Reply

  11. Absolutely beautiful shot!

    Comment by zussss | October 14, 2007 | Reply

  12. Your post makes me happy. Great shot!

    Comment by neoauteur | October 14, 2007 | Reply

  13. The second picture brings out the blue flowers very well. You did a good job.

    Comment by Jesie | October 14, 2007 | Reply

  14. This is beautiful…crystal clear!!

    Comment by marsha loftis | October 14, 2007 | Reply

  15. Looks like a great area Bernie. I’d like to go back to KY in the fall one of these years and shoot the Red River Gorge again and get down to Cumberland Falls.

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 15, 2007 | Reply

  16. nice shot, the flowers are very pretty!

    Comment by ankush | October 16, 2007 | Reply

  17. This is really amazing – I love those perky (tall mountain?) bluebells. I’ve never seen this kind and they are lovely. I love the thickness and green of those leaves… again you really have a knack of making me wish I was reading SK’s most current book at this location. Gorgeous. ps. seems like a side bar because your comp is always fabulous but I really think this composition is really original – if I tried this method it would fail but the lines from the trees keep the top of the photo busy enough to work perfectly. Amazing eye Bernie.

    Comment by aullori | October 16, 2007 | Reply

  18. Nice shot.

    Comment by davidlind | October 16, 2007 | Reply

  19. Thanks for comments, hopefully this spring I will get a little more time to work this area.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 17, 2007 | Reply

  20. How did I miss this amazing photo? I really like how you’ve framed this, Bernie. The log separates the two areas perfectly, and what can I say about the stunning shades of green and blue? Very, very nice. One of my favorites!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | November 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

