Madison Indiana Photography

“Beautiful Bluebells”


Another shot from early spring….Virginia Bluebells these have to be one of my favorite wildflowers, I love the color in these and how they seem to bow to the natural world, I shot these in Clifty Falls State Park outside of my hometown of Madison Indiana.

I shot these at f/16, ss1 second at iso 160, there was little wind that day so I could get away with a slow shutter speed, I always use a tripod and a diffuser to control the light. Just thought I would share these with you till I get my leaf files in order.

virginia-blubell-2.jpg


 



October 18, 2007 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, flora, flower photography, flowers, hiking, image, indiana wildflowers, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, state parks, travel, virginia bluebells

22 Comments »

  1. Almost don’t look real. Gorgeous.

    Comment by rtd13 | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. Very beautiful Bernie. Nice capture. I love how you captured their softness.

    Comment by paintingartist | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. Now that’s a gorgeous shot! Love it!

    Comment by montucky | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. Bernie, seriously, that has got to be the very best bluebell photo I’ve ever seen anywhere. Absolutely stunning in its colors.

    Comment by HeyJules | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. The colors are incredible!

    Comment by kml | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  6. The colors are so brilliant and beautiful.

    Comment by RecycleCindy | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  7. WOW – Bernie this is breathtaking! Do you have a favorite lens for taking your flower shots?

    Comment by truddle | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  8. Stop posting photos! I haven’t been hiking now for a couple of weeks and these are making me very jealous!

    Comment by Claire | October 18, 2007 | Reply

  9. Bernie, what is the thinking behind using an ISO of 160 vs. 100? What ever it is, it seems to make some beautiful photos…

    Comment by cruxphoto | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  10. Hey Bern, this one really POPS!

    Comment by Mike Moats | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  11. Wow, I can’t believe how blue they are! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  12. Magnificent. The colors just knock me out!

    Comment by Bobbie | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  13. What a great macro shot. The flowers look like lovely maidens decked out in blue petticoats. Very nice!

    Comment by dkaye | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  14. This is an amazingly beautiful shot.

    I’ve seen you at Ron’s blog and been meaning to visit. I’m glad I finally found the time to stop by (and will now be a regular visitor!). Madison is a lovely area, and Clifty Falls State Park is one of my favorite state parks.

    Comment by Robin | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  15. Bernie, these are so delicate, they remind me of fine porcelain. Beautiful photo!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  16. those colors are beautiful! i can’t believe it’s real. i am learning photography after christmas i can’t wait 🙂

    Comment by ChrissyJo | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  17. beautiful flowers, and colors.

    Comment by ankush | October 20, 2007 | Reply

  18. Fab-u-lous! That is a perfect wildflower shot.. Gorgeous… This is by the way one of my favorite flowers on the forest floor too. We get ones tho that are really short. I’d love to see yours. (we get small mountain bluebells the blossoms are the same but they grow really low to the ground.) I bet your tall ones are breathtaking – well… anyway your photos attest to the fact that they are – this shot is probably the most beautiful wildflower shot I’ve ever seen.

    Comment by aullori | October 20, 2007 | Reply

  19. This picture is amazing. You have captured the flowers beautiful colors along with a nice contrasting background. Thanks for sharing. 😉

    Comment by chessnoid | October 20, 2007 | Reply

  20. Truddle..I shoot with a Sigma 150 macro, never leave home without it.

    Nate..I get just a hair more ss speed with 160 over the 100, and it doesn’t seem to affect my prints. So I just leave things as is so I don’t screw anything up 🙂

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 20, 2007 | Reply

  21. You are turning my world upside down with your photos!

    Comment by davidlind | October 20, 2007 | Reply

  22. NICE USE OF BLACK LIGHT 🙂

    Comment by sherpa | November 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

