Madison Indiana Photography

“Dahlia Abstract”


Shot this dahlia a while back…. Thought I might share it with you now, this is one of my favorite photos, I blew 2 of these up to 13×19 and flipped them so that they made a mirror image of each other matted and framed them and hung them opposite of each other in a friends house and they came out great.

I shot this at f/2.8 at 1/3 of a second at iso 100. I then converted to B&W and added a cooling filter to get this effect, hope you enjoy it.

closeup-dahlia-1.jpg

October 23, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, B&W, Clifty Falls, DSLR, flora, flower photography, flowers, image, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photography, pictures, random

23 Comments »

  1. This is a very convincing argument if anyone says that photography is not art. Beautiful!

    Comment by montucky | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Nature’s abstract in a way. The photo shows such depth, as if you could place your finger inside a petal. And the b/w with lovely contrast. I would love to see the mirror images together. Do you have a shot to share?

    Comment by barbara | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Bad to the Bone Bernie! Very beautiful and great idea for hanging. Would make an awesome focal point. You might have a little interior designer in ya! I love how the lightest tone is in the center of the flower.

    Comment by paintingartist | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Congrats on 20,000 Mr. Blog Man! Your going to have to slow up this turtle can’t keep up!

    Comment by paintingartist | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. Beautiful shot of one of my favorite “tameflowers” 🙂

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. I love to hear what people do with their photos. I have yet to use too many of my photos as true art pieces. I need to be more creative, and I like your idea of taking the same image and mirroring it.

    Comment by cruxphoto | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  7. Fab-U-lous!

    Comment by HeyJules | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  8. I, too, would love to see the two mirror images hung. I can imagine it’s beautiful. I can understand why this is one of your favorite shots. I’m amazed at the depth.

    Comment by Bobbie | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  9. wow, this is awesome Bernie!!!
    i cant imagine how lovely this would look blown up that big a print, and with the flipped version.

    Comment by ankush | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  10. Wow what a beautiful picture! Left you a SU too.

    Comment by RecycleCindy | October 23, 2007 | Reply

  11. To be honest I don’t understand taking the color out of a flower but the more times I look at this the better I like it.

    Comment by davidlind | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  12. Stunning.

    Comment by Robin | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  13. Hey Bernie, really well done.

    Comment by Mike Moats | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  14. Stunning macro!

    Comment by mon@rch | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  15. I love the mystery behind this photo Bernie!

    Comment by truddle | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  16. Many here applauded you and I do too this is beautiful and understand why you love it too – I really appreciate you sharing your method of presentation. I love how gentle and delicate the focal point is … right on the tips of the three petals that scan across the page – it really shows how a flower stripped down to the very basics can be breathtakingly beautiful. Could be just me and my obvious bias however this looks like a gallery piece to me.

    p.s. your friend makes you a case of wine – you gave him this???… dang… I really do need to socialize more! 😉

    Comment by aullori | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  17. You are doing a great job with the macro Bernie. I bought a macro lens over a year and a half ago thinking I was going to shoot a lot of macro but it turns out that I use it more for shooting trees and travel when I need the sharpness. Weird how things turn out.

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  18. I love floral prints in color when they’re smaller, but in large format I think B/W really adds a dramatic touch. Lucky friend!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  19. Fantastic shot!
    The DoF and dramatics of the B&W/filter tones work great with the tight crop of the image. A very powerful image of a common, yet apparently very intricate item.

    Comment by Zarquon | October 24, 2007 | Reply

  20. It’s really a wonderful awesome photograph !

    I really love everything that the flower is telling everybody, the work of art, beauty of photography, photography techniques , such a powerful photograph.

    Absolutely brillant !

    Geng Hui
    http://photojournalism-tgh.blogspot.com

    Comment by Geng Hui | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  21. i realy liked the photo couse it’s realy white and pure….it is the best white dahlia i ever seen..thank u artist

    Comment by dahlia | June 25, 2008 | Reply

  22. Wow that’s really pretty!

    Comment by Jordan | August 30, 2008 | Reply

  23. Very cool image. I like blue toning.

    Comment by Descartes | August 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

