Madison Indiana Photography

“Sycamore Leaf Art”


I shot this one two days ago before the really heavy rains set in, we are now over 6 inches of rain the last two days, I shot this one in a little creek bed that had just a skiff of water in it…now there is about six feet of water in there.

This sycamore leaf was floating in about 3 inches of water and was partially submerged when I shot this, I got the idea from Mike Moats who is a master of this type of image, I shot it with my white balance on fluorescent to give it the cool blue look it has. My settings were f/16 at 1/6 of a second and my iso was set at 200. Hopefully the next couple days I will be able to get out and shoot some waterfall and creek shots since the creeks are finally filling up again.

BTW If you want to see more of Mike’s work you can go here….

http://tinylanscapes.wordpress.com/

leaf-art-8.jpg

October 25, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, Clifty Falls, flora, flowers, hiking, image, indiana wildflowers, leaf, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photography, pictures, random, travel

31 Comments »

  1. There is so much going on here, it’s fantastic Bernie.

    Comment by rtd13 | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. Such a stunning colors in this leaf!

    Comment by mon@rch | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. FANTASTIC PHOTO!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing it with us!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Inspirational Posters | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  4. Great shot Bernie. Water and fall colors my favorite mixture. Nice to hear you are getting some rain, we got some the last day or so and need a lot more.

    Comment by paintingartist | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  5. Did that ever turn out well! Glad to hear you are getting rain!

    Comment by montucky | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  6. Very nice shot! I love the way colors are represented. Bravo 🙂

    Comment by Serge Nanovsky | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi n how are u? Nice collections, i love them all. Keep up da gud work and all da best 🙂

    Comment by Earthworld | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  8. Gorgeous shot Bernie. I’m really enjoying your leaf art series. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by jonb49 | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  9. I love that you thought to change the lighting to fluorescent – that’s something I never remember to do in field! Thanks for the beautiful reminder.

    Comment by HeyJules | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  10. […] Bernie Kasper placed an interesting blog post on âSycamore Leaf Artâ.Here’s a brief overview:I shot this one two days ago before the really heavy rains set in, we are now over 6 inches of rain the last two days, I shot this one in a little creek bed that had just a skiff of water in it…now there is about six feet of water in … […]

    Pingback by www.bestdigitalphotography.info » “Sycamore Leaf Art” | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  11. I love the leather look of this leaf. Absolutely stunning!

    Comment by truddle | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  12. Very nice idea and combination. My favorite so far.

    Comment by davidlind | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  13. I agree with rtd13, there is a lot to look at in this shot. Great colours, too!

    Comment by Zarquon | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  14. This is an interesting piece …and not my favorite of yours. (Okay till now you always thought I was a suck up didn’t ya?) Now the colors are brilliant and extremely pleasing to the eye. However, I do like this leaf because it made me rethink art. My initial reaction was this is not even close to true to life – it looks metal like something off a sci-fi flick. Without pollution this guy could not happen and that I didn’t like much. I guess on some level (and thus the rethinking part) I’m a big fan of the work telling us something about the subject – heck anything. Okay that said I’ll try to redeem for a second my narrow minded thinking. I read a quote by a artist in Brooklyn who said, “More and more I feel like the most radical thing art can do is give someone an experience they feel is unfamiliar in some way.” `Dana Schutz. With this guy you did do that. So I’ll restate this; (I added all of it to let you know how my mental babble came together) “This is an extremely radical piece of art. I really like the colors in it. It’s a very brave piece probably a lot closer to art than I could ever create. Bravo for your hard work and imagination.” 😉 Okay okay maybe I am a suck up.

    Comment by aullori | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  15. Amazing shot. I need to play with WB more or start shooting RAW.

    Comment by Stevo | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  16. awesome photo! very interesting idea.

    Comment by ankush | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  17. Bernie, I like the half-submerged look here, and the cobalt reflection of the sky. It’s a beautiful combination of light and color.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  18. Thanks for all the comments guys I really appreciate them, and thanks for the honesty Lori, I always enjoy what you have to say 🙂

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  19. Presumably you are using a digital camera?

    Guess what. When I was last in America (I live in Australia)I forgot to bring home my digital camera manual with me. So I have forgotten how to change the WB. But it is good to see photos taken on something other than auto. I recently wrote a post about this.

    What I find amazing about America is its landscape except for in California. I also can’t get it into my head that it snows in the midwest and then is very hot in summer. For me the middle of a country is just pure desert.

    I need to travel to get photos like this. We don’t have sycamores.

    Comment by jencam | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  20. Wow.

    wow.

    Comment by amuirin | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  21. Hey Bern, this came out awesome, the leaf looks like leather, very cool. Thanks for the plug!.

    Comment by Mike Moats | October 27, 2007 | Reply

  22. I don’t try using different white balances for creative effect enough Bernie. Thanks for the push! I like the impact it provides with this.

    Comment by Mark | October 27, 2007 | Reply

  23. Hi Bernie,

    This reminds me of my most recent post. You can check it out at http://sherrimeyer.com/Blog/?p=350.

    Sherri
    Auburn, CA

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | October 27, 2007 | Reply

  24. Amazing! I absolutely love this. You need to make this into a print and sell it, or at the very least, print it for your own home.

    Comment by Lori | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  25. Truly amazing, yet simple. Wow…fantastic!

    smiles,
    tina =).

    Comment by phlogthat | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  26. i’ve been watching your blog and your shots are very interesting, i leave a post in this one becouse the color game and textures are really incredible, congratulations

    best wishes and good shots

    Comment by pedro cardona | November 9, 2007 | Reply

  27. great photo..love it

    Comment by Anahera | October 19, 2008 | Reply

  28. Nice photo !

    The sycamore leaf and maple leaf kind of look similar in their shape, wonder if they from the same family ?

    Would be lovely to see a sea of sycamore leafs or maple leafs!

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | October 20, 2008 | Reply

  29. I have always love sycamore trees and this is a great image.

    Comment by Descartes | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  30. beautyfull leaf , pleas vist my leaf art website ,www.shahzadzar.com

    Comment by shahzad zar | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  31. Поставте антиспам

    Comment by bbizbor | February 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

