Madison Indiana Photography

“Poplar Leaf Abstract”


Another closeup leaf abstract shot I have been playing with, I tried to get as close as possible to take in all the structure and details of this beautiful leaf, I love the burnt bronze orange color of this.

It has been a pretty bad year for landscapes this fall season, but I have had a really good time shooting these leaf shots, hope you have enjoyed viewing as much as I have  been taking them.

The techs for this shot were 150 macro with ext. tube, f/22 at 1.5 seconds, iso 100. White balance was set at auto.

                                                                                                               leaf-art-14.jpg

November 13, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, Clifty Falls, closeup, fall, flora, flowers, hiking, image, indiana wildflowers, leaf, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, photography, pictures, random, travel

22 Comments »

  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

    Pingback by » “Poplar Leaf Abstract” | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Absolutely remarkable Bernie. Detail throughout. Very well done.

    I love the color myself. I think artists and photographers all too often shy away from orange and bronze.

    If you get a chance take a piece of glass and paint the backside black and photo a leaf on it. I’d love to see what you come up with.

    Comment by paintingartist | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. that is such an amazing up close photo of the leaf! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. I like that color too, Bernie. The photo really portrays the character of the leaf.

    Comment by montucky | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. I’m stunned… fabulous….

    Comment by aullori | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. The leaf macros are wondeful Bernie. All of themhave been fantastic in their own way. Ron (still) in Bolivia.

    Comment by rtd13 | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. I really like that this one appears to be decomposing – that it’s acurately depicting its current set of circumstances. You could have doctored it up in PS but then you would have had an old, ordinary leaf.

    Great job, B.

    Comment by HeyJules | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. I definitely have been enjoying them. I love the black spots. It almost looks like an orange ladybug.

    Comment by cruxphoto | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. Beautiful macro, Bernie! Do keep them coming!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  10. I have enjoyed all of your wonderful leaf shots. Tis one looks almost like grained leather, doesn’t it?

    Comment by Bobbie | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  11. Great texture in this Bernie. It is all a matter of preference, but I also like to do these using a polarizer.

    Comment by Mark | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  12. You caught the details beautifully. I have thinking about an extension tube – will have to look into it more. Well done!

    Comment by kml | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  13. Bernie, you have mastered leaf art! What can I add to what has already been said? You recognize what works, and capture it in a unique Berniesque style!
    Beautiful!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  14. Bernie this is breathtaking – the colors so vibrant, the textures – a beautiful collection indeed.

    Comment by truddle | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  15. beautiful detail!

    Comment by ankush | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  16. Great details and striking colors, Lovely!

    Comment by tomwhelan | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  17. This is a wonderful abstract style. I love your leaves.

    Comment by barbara | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  18. beautiful stuff Bernie. I think i need an ext tube and longer macro.

    Comment by Richard Wong | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  19. I know that I have commented on this photo already . . . . I really love this photo!

    Comment by mon@rch | November 17, 2007 | Reply

  20. Wonderful colors and details. It reminds me of a ladybug.

    Comment by Robin | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  21. Wonderful rich tones!

    Comment by sil63 | December 2, 2007 | Reply

  22. Thanks for all the comments guys 🙂

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | December 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

