Madison Indiana Photography

“Gerbera Petal Abstract”


Looking for something a little different today, found this old file of a dahlia petal, I liked the abstract look and vivid colors in this. I like shooting this type of image very shallow and enhancing the form and colors of the petals, I tried shooting this bloom as whole and was never really satisfied with it, I think this type of flower looks better in more of an abstract view.

I shot this one with my 150 macro at f/2.8 with a ss of 1/4 second at iso 200, thanks for taking a look.

gerbera-daisy-abstract-2.jpg

November 27, 2007 - Posted by | abstract, art, DSLR, flora, flower photography, flowers, image, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, photography, pictures, plants, random

22 Comments »

  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

    Pingback by » “Dahlia Petal Abstract” | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. That is my kind of yellow! BRAVO!

    Comment by mon@rch | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. What can I say? Absolutely beautiful Bernie. Very nice use of orange. I love the softness of some of the pettles and the blends that resulted.

    Comment by paintingartist | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. What a beautiful blend of color and form!

    Comment by montucky | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  5. I love the color and forms – nice!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  6. Ohhhhhhhhhh! Ahhhhhhhh! That’s a soooooothing photo.

    Comment by cruxphoto | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  7. the colors are very refreshing here. deciding on how much DOF to use is always the part I struggle with on the macro lens.

    Comment by Richard Wong | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  8. Really beautiful Bernie.

    R(etc…)

    Comment by rtd13 | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  9. Incredible colors, Bernie. Well done!

    Comment by Bobbie | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  10. Magical Bernie! I believe flowers must be your signature.

    Comment by truddle | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  11. Yes, Bernie, you are quickly becoming “the flower guy.” Excellent image you got there. I am in love with the gradient levels of color in this one.

    Comment by HeyJules | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  12. Bernie, you are faster than a speeding bullet already hitting 30,000! Great job and I hope you continue to grow your friends. Awesome job.

    Comment by paintingartist | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  13. What a lovely reminder of summer. What a work of art this sweet flower is!

    Comment by barbara | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  14. You are seeing things that nobody else is seeing and you are showing them to us.

    Comment by davidlind | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  15. I had to come back and see it again. I know you’re busy. How’s your basketball team doing?

    Comment by davidlind | December 2, 2007 | Reply

  16. I love your macro work!

    Comment by DiamondVVV1 | December 6, 2007 | Reply

  17. Wow this is so beautiful, yet simple. Anna 🙂

    Comment by Anna | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  18. This is fascinating. Probably one of those I should look at a couple of times however, it really is a beauty. I love the slice that petal makes at the lower edge of the page. That is really amazingly neat. Boy, my only problem I really wish I adored the color yellow. But I am wise enough to admire how much you do! Excellent work.

    Comment by aullori | December 15, 2007 | Reply

  19. Thanks for all the nice comments.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  20. beautiful abstract shot!
    love the colors, and selective focus.

    Comment by ankush | January 14, 2008 | Reply

  21. Excellent job mate:

    I was very impressed with your clarity on the subject and how you unfocused everything else making the rest of us focus on the subject of your art. Very skillfully done!
    Kudos to you!

    Comment by Ryan Wood | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  22. thanks for posting it, using it for my profile pic on facebook and twitter 😉

    Comment by gnhd | January 13, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

