Madison Indiana Photography

“First Snow”


We got our first measurable snow of the year the other day, not much about 2 inches, but just enough to cover up a otherwise lifeless and uninteresting landscape and give it a little pop.

This is one of the many waterfalls that dot the landscape of the area I live in, and I thought a perfect match for a B&W conversion, hope you enjoy taking a look as much as I did in capturing this image.

421-cascade-3.jpg

December 18, 2007 - Posted by | art, B&W, Clifty Falls, creek, hiking, ice, image, landscapes, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photography, photos, pictures, random, waterfalls, winter

19 Comments »

  1. […] IT IN place added an interesting post today on âFirst SnowâHere’s a small reading […]

    Pingback by Media Districts Entertainment Blog » “First Snow” | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. This is such a wonderful shot and I really bet this water will be running once your snow melts!

    Comment by mon@rch | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. Another beauty of a picture. Love the black and white photography!

    Comment by RecycleCindy | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. Nice shot, Bernie! Your water photos inspire me to try for some from around here.

    Comment by montucky | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. lol, We had you beat in So Cal then with the snow. 🙂 I like how stark this scene is. were you in the water shooting this? looks like some slippery limestone there.

    Comment by Richard | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  6. fantastic b/w. great motion

    Comment by evlahos | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  7. First snow – Wow! The waterfall is perfect. b/w is a great choice here- wish I knew when it was a great choice on my own shots. 🙂

    Comment by barbara | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  8. Snow? What is this snow you speak of? True enough, it got down to about 63 degrees yesterday morning and your youngest niece wanted to wear her mittens to school. Yes, her mother let her. See you soon and get please get rid of that white stuff before we leave our island.

    Comment by conchlife | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  9. this is beautiful Bernie.. a perfect scene 4 the conversion..nice!
    thanks 4 the comment at my blog too. am behind as usual.. you’ve been a super coach 😉

    Comment by Cindy | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  10. I love the B&W conversion of this photo – I need to get out there and hunt down some waterfalls of my own to shoot. You are such an inspiration Bernie, thank you!

    Comment by truddle | December 19, 2007 | Reply

  11. Well, it does look chilly — or else it’s the power of suggestion from your title.

    Comment by Bobbie | December 19, 2007 | Reply

  12. yes it’s me!!! nice work, is it clifty or other? My time here is quickly coming to an end. Let’s try to shoot some next week after xmas. give me a call or i’ll see you at the game saturday. later

    Comment by armyman | December 20, 2007 | Reply

  13. How you doing JT, this one is actually from the cut on top of highway 421, that little falls on the right going up the hill.

    I will see you Saturday afternoon 🙂

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | December 20, 2007 | Reply

  14. Very nice. You have some great waterways in your area. And you know how to take advantage of them. This photo helps me to understand better why B and W photos are cool. I’m not sure I can explain it but I get it.

    Comment by davidlind | December 20, 2007 | Reply

  15. The black and white works well! If you want a few more inches of snow, I could send you the 11 inches we received last night – that’s on top of the 23 inches we already had. Enough already!

    Comment by kml | December 20, 2007 | Reply

  16. Lovely!

    Hope to get some snow soon..

    Comment by Thomas L | December 22, 2007 | Reply

  17. Great shot Bernie, I think the small amount of snow actually adds interest to the Black and White photo. Very nicely done. A subtle use of tones.

    Comment by paintingartist | December 24, 2007 | Reply

  18. Oh the beautiful nature…. Amazing!

    Comment by Fallen Angel | January 6, 2008 | Reply

  19. Hey Bernie, I realized that I had not explored your b/w photos before. This one takes my breath away! I love the action going on in both the foreground and background–lots to see. Beautiful work.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | July 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

