Madison Indiana Photography

“Calla Lily”


Playing around with some Calla Lilies this week and came up with this shot and a few others, I have finally got the urge to shoot again after a long winter and basketball season, I forgot how much I enjoyed it.

I am hoping to get a break in the weather, it is up to almost 50 today and tomorrow is supposed to be even warmer, but alas we are expecting a couple snow or rain systems to push thru this week and bring us back to winter.  But I am feeling better because it won’t be long before I am outside and shooting again, so I should be able to post alot more images than I have lately, thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

                                                                                              calla-lily-1.jpg
March 2, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, calla lily, closeup, DSLR, flora, flower photography, flowers, image, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photography, pictures, random, thoughts

38 Comments »

  1. Absolutely gorgeous Bernie…

    R(etc…)

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Bernie-

    Wow, awesome depth of field. I love the rich blacks in this shot!

    Tom

    Comment by Tom @ Ohio Nature | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. These are stunning! I love the yellow in the middle!

    Comment by mon@rch | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. The black background is so suitable with the Lily colour. Great job Bern.

    Comment by Susanno | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. Amazing imagery.

    Comment by Jinksy | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. I carried fake Calla Lilies when I was trying on my wedding gown about nine years ago. Your shot looks so much brighter and lively compared to the ones I took at the studio. Great job.

    Comment by jesie | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. Wow, Bernie. This is a fabulous shot. You’ve outdone yourself.

    Comment by Bobbie | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  8. Oh that is brilliant. I actually was wandering in a florist shop today thinking of your shots and then … could I? nah… and here you are with this absolutely stunning photograph and here I am going. Okay no I can’t. 🙂 I have to say (cuz I tend to be a loud mouth) This photo seems more balanced than you calla lilies in the past. Weighted properly brilliant. I think your just “just barely” lighting here make it look very sexy. In a few words; I love it.

    Comment by aullori | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  9. What a stunning composition.

    Comment by barbara | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  10. I wonder…did you just drop them into a vase or did you arrange them to some extent? They just seem to flow from one flower to the next.

    It’s another stunning shot, Bernie.

    Comment by HeyJules | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  11. Nicely done, Bernie. The photo is as beautiful as the flower!

    Comment by montucky | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  12. stunning image Bernie, love the arrangement, and the black background works very well with the white flowers, awesome perspective.

    Comment by ankush | March 3, 2008 | Reply

  13. Oooh. I like this. I like the swirling lines & the contrast.

    Comment by Lana | March 3, 2008 | Reply

  14. Very nice image Bernie.

    Comment by Mike Moats | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  15. You did a great job with thes lilies. The black background really set it off.

    Comment by Preston Surface | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  16. classic portrait lighting Bernie. Do you do any still life photography?

    Comment by Richard Wong | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  17. Wow – the the light, the composition, the dramatic colors – all are most beautiful and just perfect!

    Comment by kml | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  18. Wow, what a beauty…

    Comment by Czecho | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  19. Great comp Bernie. It’s quite something when you present a composition that you know it wouldn’t look right any other way.

    Comment by Mark | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  20. Lovely photo, lighting, focus, and composition are all spot-on!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  21. Beautiful, the lighting with the dark made it gorgeous!

    Comment by Young Naturalist J | March 7, 2008 | Reply

  22. there is so many really nice photos I couldn’t make up my mind which one to comment on.This is a nice close up nice composition.

    Comment by Gregorio | March 7, 2008 | Reply

  23. This is so beautiful. You have a wonderful blog here. I’ll be back to look at more of your pictures.

    Comment by Sandpiper | March 8, 2008 | Reply

  24. what a dramatic image, have missed your work coach.. and now that you have more time to devote to your photography, I can only imagine how your creativity will blossom. 🙂

    Comment by Cindy | March 9, 2008 | Reply

  25. Bernie, what a great beautiful image. Fine lighting and just enough warm color. Very nice.

    Comment by paintingartist | March 9, 2008 | Reply

  26. This is beautiful.

    Comment by nataJane | March 10, 2008 | Reply

  27. Gorgeous! As the Grand Poohbah of Learning in the Great Outdoors, the carnival of environmental education, I invite you to submit a post or three occasionally. I think our readers will enjoy your beautiful nature photography.

    http://web.mac.com/terrellshaw/iWeb/Outdoors/

    Comment by Terrell | March 10, 2008 | Reply

  28. Bernie…really fantastic perspective on this one…I love it, particularly the way you ‘look down the barrel’ of the flower on the left!

    Comment by Howard Grill | March 10, 2008 | Reply

  29. Very nice. I like it a lot.

    Comment by David | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  30. I was pointed to your blog last month. All your pictures are beautiful, but this photo of the calla lily – my favorite flower – takes my breath away.

    Comment by tumwijuke | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  31. absolutely beautiful image. breathtaking. what a great find.

    Comment by babooshka | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  32. fantastic shot!

    Comment by freshmess | June 23, 2008 | Reply

  33. i love it.

    Comment by anh | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  34. Hi great pics!! 🙂

    Comment by Michelle | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  35. This is so beautiful! It reminds me of the flowers I gave my mother the day before she died, several years ago. It made me smile and cry at the same time because she adored them. May I use this picture as a background image?

    Comment by Donna Lambert | February 21, 2011 | Reply

  36. Do u sell ur work? I am interested in this photo.

    Comment by Todd | March 14, 2012 | Reply

    • What are are you interested in…print ?

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | March 14, 2012 | Reply

  37. Love the shot!

    Comment by mflahertyphoto | January 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

