Madison Indiana Photography

“I Need Green”


I can’t reiterate  enough how sick of winter that I am, so maybe thru some kind of karma, I will post this image from last spring with the hopes of hastening the season along.

Ok…. So I am full of it, but I thought you might enjoy this scene from The Great Smokey Mountain National Park that I captured last year, warm weather lush vegetation and flowing water are all components that went into this image and all are conditions I am yearning for daily.

So I will just keep hoping that the weather finally breaks and the wildflowers will start to emerge and until then I guess I will have to rely on old files to get my fix on spring.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

smokey-stream-1.jpg
March 12, 2008 - Posted by | art, creek, DSLR, hiking, image, landscapes, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photography, photos, pictures, random, travel, waterfalls

30 Comments »

  1. Wow, that is a terrific study in green! What a combination of beautiful elements!

    Comment by montucky | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’d bet you for first one to take and post a real wildflower…but you live too far south. So I’m waiting, Bernie. Where IS the wildflower? Soon? Arrrgghhh.

    Comment by barbara | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. Nice, Bernie. I like the angle of the light and the large rock in the foreground.

    MDW

    Comment by forestrat | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hey Bernie, a fine lush photo with the perfect amount of tone. I love the saturated colors. Nice how the foreground rock is one of the brightest.

    Comment by paintingartist | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  5. I would love to be in the Smokies period!

    Comment by paintingartist | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Nice photo! I do find myself looking at images of sunsets during the cold season. 🙂

    Comment by thebiglife | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  7. That’s a beautiful photograph, Bernie! I love the varied shades of green and the streak of cotton-candy water!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  8. Tired of green? Then come down and mow my patch of grass I call a lawn? Your niece begged and pleaded last weekend until her mother put up a small pool to kill what little gras there is for you to mow. The sun is out, flowers are blooming, etc…Mayflower can always improve the weather!

    Comment by conchlife | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  9. It’s coming Bernie! Hold on! I saw my first robin redbreast last night and he said he was heading your way.

    GORGEOUS photo. I have GOT to get to the Smokey Mountains!

    Comment by HeyJules | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  10. I hear you, Bernie – we still have about a four foot ice pack here – usually it’s just about gone this time of the year. Spring cannot come soon enough! Great photo with hopes of what’s to come!

    Comment by kml | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  11. Love that almost fantastical look you get in your pictures…

    Comment by Czecho | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  12. Out standing! I am sick of snow also, we have not had it all year and we just got hit last weekend with a foot of snow…ugh

    Comment by Young Naturalist J | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  13. Beautiful Bernie. Plenty of green, I think I even see Kermit in there too…

    R(etc…)

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  14. That is so beautiful – you know oddly… it reminds me of the Biblical reference to Israel. (“The land of milk and honey”) I guess in an interesting way this is how my ‘minds eye’ would visualize God’s promised land. I love how you captured the surface tension of the water – with that almost milky texture to it. Okay darn I’ve found myself running out of words again … everything about this photograph says calm, serene and lush. (Three things that go great together by the way!)

    Comment by aullori | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  15. That is such a beautiful shot. Absolutely breathtaking!

    Comment by RecycleCindy | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  16. WOOOOW!!!!

    You have a great site. It is just great.

    Keep up the excellent work.

    Comment by PHOTOGRAPHY SKILLS | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  17. Are you still burried under all that snow? It is like 90 and a sand storm over here. I have never seen so many camels on my desert travels either. Hope spring comes quickly for you my friend! Talk at you later, JT.

    Comment by JT | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  18. wow, lovely image Bernie! very nice colors, and your trade mark flowing water effect. dont worry its time to say goodbye to winter:)

    Comment by ankush | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  19. Beautiful shot Bernie. The green is amazing. Do you remember where exactly the location is, because I think I might have been there on my trip to the Smokies last fall. It looks familiar!

    Comment by Howard Grill | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  20. Howard… I shot this on the Roaring Fork Motor Nature Trail in the creek right below The Place of a Thousand Drips, boy that was a mouthful, that part of the park is one of my favorites !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  21. I have been to this spot also, great shot Bernie. I think the sentiment of being sick of winter is quite common. Pretty soon a boycott is in order.

    Comment by Mark | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  22. Bernie, that’s not just green, it’s incredibly soothing. Well done.

    Comment by Bobbie | March 15, 2008 | Reply

  23. I woudln’t know what winter is like… but this scene looks appetizing. The moss resembles a northwestern type of environment more than what I’d think to see out there.

    Comment by Richard Wong | March 15, 2008 | Reply

  24. One of my favorite places. This is beautiful and conveys such peace. I’m tired of winter, too.

    Comment by Sandpiper | March 16, 2008 | Reply

  25. This is beautiful and I am definitely a green junkie 🙂

    Comment by Claire | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  26. Oh my goodnes, this looks sureal!!!!! What amazing photography!

    Comment by Evita | April 5, 2008 | Reply

  27. Beautiful photo!

    Comment by Tim | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  28. What an amazing shots of the water. It’s so milky! Was a neutral density filter used? Great work.

    Comment by Ryan Shapiro | April 14, 2008 | Reply

  29. Thanks for stopping by Ryan, no I didn’t use a GND, I did however have a polarizing filter on when I shot this !

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | April 14, 2008 | Reply

  30. i love this water effect, is awesome!

    Comment by Tiziano | April 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

