Madison Indiana Photography

” The Gnome “


I have been shooting a lot of flowers the last few days and been pretty busy at work as well, now I have some time too catch back up.

I shot a series of pansies and after looking at this one for a while I kind of got the impression it resembled a Gnome, the one on the Travelocity commercial  comes to mind, I may be off base and little winter fatigued but I do see a likeness. And then again I could be way off base and we can blame it on age !

Hope everyone is well and thanks as always for stopping by.

pansy-closeup-2.jpg

March 20, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, DSLR, flora, flower photography, flowers, image, images, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photography, random

19 Comments »

  1. A gnome? yeah, sure, that’s it 🙂

    Great Bernie, absolutely beautiful…

    R(etc…)

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | March 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. That’s a fascinating photo, Bernie. Beautiful!

    Comment by montucky | March 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. I see the gnome, as well. Very sweet! Sorry I’ve been absent lately–mundania had intruded for a while there!

    Comment by Lana | March 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. I Just love these colors together! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | March 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Oh my gosh! I’ve seen you name on montucky’s blog and, I think, aullori’s too. Now, I wonder why I haven’t clicked on your link before. I love close-ups and your images are stunning!

    Speaking of your entry “I Need Green” … me too! This image looks like it could have been taken at Acadia National Park in ME. I LOVE IT!

    Comment by Janet Wilkins | March 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. Nice to see I’m a promoter now. 🙂 Meanwhile, I just adore adore adore the thick yellow in this plant. I’m normally not a big fan of yellow however, that thick almost congested yellow framed perfectly by the thicker ice-blue filaments … dang, suddenly I feel like an inspired hungry bee! Brilliant shot, brilliant. (I dunno about the whole aspect of the dwarf and spent a lot of time looking.. it reminded me of cloud gazing with my kids… “nope, don’t see it… nope, um… {complete lie} oh yeah.. okay there it is!” 🙂

    Comment by aullori | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. The beautifulest blue and yellow I’ve ever seen! Nice shot Bernie.

    Comment by paintingartist | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Bernie, I think you do this image a disservice by comparing it to that ugly Travelocity gnome. (He should be so lucky!) Really, it’s a wonderful image. The colors and detail are breathtaking.

    Comment by Bobbie | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  9. Love the colors and the combination of the two in a flower.

    Ratna
    http://creativejoys.wordpress.com/

    Comment by Ratna | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  10. I see a little bearded fellow having a snooze with his hat pulled down over his eyes 🙂

    Comment by Claire | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  11. It does have a gnome-likeness. Especially in the nose area.
    WC

    Comment by writerchick | March 23, 2008 | Reply

  12. It took me awhile to see the gnome but once I see it I think you’re right! Still, gnome or no gnome I like the shot.

    Comment by calevphoto | March 23, 2008 | Reply

  13. wow, aweswome shot, lovely colors Bernie!
    btw – did you say you did the matting yourself? was looking for some tips on that, if you did – what kind of cutter would you recommend?

    Comment by ankush | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  14. I saw the gnome immediately – complete with bushy eyebrows. I’m always seeing things in my photos that blog visitors don’t get. Is it a recessive gene, Bernie? and I LOVE the colors. We had spring for a day here, now snow dump again. 🙂 Soooon!

    Comment by barbara | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  15. Leave it to you, Bernie, to come up with a gnome-in-a-pansy. ha!
    I wish we had pansies, but last night it froze here, and it’s 32 degrees this morning. I’m about to buy flowers just to have something to photograph!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | March 25, 2008 | Reply

  16. Definitely a gnome – the nose and beard are perfect!

    Comment by kml | March 30, 2008 | Reply

  17. Not sure if I would have thought of it myself, but since you did, yes, it does look rather gnome-like! Beautiful photo!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  18. Love the composition, details, and color. Super.

    Comment by tomwhelan | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  19. the beatiful color of the nature…good shot…the macro world is enchating!!

    MVA

    http://www.maranovisionart.wordpress.com

    Comment by maranovisionart | April 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

