Madison Indiana Photography

” Iris Portrait “


The wildflowers are still not out but they are very close, I may get a few early ones tomorrow, so in the mean time I shot this little Iris in my basement.

These are neat little flowers that cost about 2 dollars to shoot and I got quite a few shots out of this one. I shot this one with a black felt background and just a tad bit of light cast from a light clamp. It keeps me out of trouble and I can always tell my wife that I am hard a work so I can’t do all the little mundane chores that spring brings.

I do believe we are on the verge of spring really breaking out here soon, so hopefully my next shots will come from the woods instead of my basement, thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

iris-1.jpg

March 26, 2008 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, DSLR, flora, floral, flowers, hiking, image, macro, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photography, plants, random, travel

27 Comments »

  1. I just love iris when in flower and these purples are amazing! WOW

    Comment by mon@rch | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Another beautiful photo, Bernie! A shot like that makes the time spent well worthwhile! I know you’re anxious to be out in the woods again.

    Comment by montucky | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. The iris is great even done in the basement. And I’m still in
    the greenhouse. Maybe next week!

    Comment by barbara | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. Gorgeous! Your time in the basement was well spent.

    Comment by Deb Geyer | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. You truly are the flower man. That is a Japanese Iris if I’m not mistaken…smaller petals than their dutch counterparts. Either way, it’s a beauty.

    Comment by HeyJules | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  6. It’s good to see you shooting a lot more. I haven’t had the time I really want.. Great lighting.

    Comment by cruxphoto | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  7. Brilliant – I still am woefully wondering how your images just slice through the page with almost a three dimensional look. The edges look like they’ve been cut with a razor which only heightens the reason my grandmother loved purple so much… I’m pretty sure that this shot is why it was my grandmothers favorite color. The image offers the definition of the color and almost offers a direct conclusion as to why God created the color in the first place. This is regal, magnificent and with such a simple subject too. I think this kind of shot is the test to the photographer… If you can make an iris look like it’s worth a million dollars you can photograph just about anything. Lovely Bernie simply lovely.

    Comment by aullori | March 26, 2008 | Reply

  8. This deserves to be framed — and it needs a very elegant frame. It is a work of art.

    Comment by Bobbie | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  9. I love the bright colors here & the contrast against the black. Very nice! Sorry for my recent absence…had some back trouble, but I’m better now.

    Comment by Lana | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  10. Yet another beautiful flower photo! I just love your work. You always have such pretty shots with brilliant colors.

    Comment by RecycleCindy | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  11. Great shot and I loved the narration.

    Comment by davidlind | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  12. beautiful shot Bernie, the black background works very well with the purple flowers

    Comment by ankush | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  13. Amazingly beautiful Bernie, looks like a painting. A great shot showing this great flower’s beauty.

    Comment by paintingartist | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  14. Quite a striking image Bernie.

    Comment by Mark | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  15. That is an amazing shot! Great capture!

    Comment by talinan | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  16. Where did you say you got that blue iris? I want one. Well, whatever. It is beautiful and your camera work is to be envied.

    Comment by nouveaufauves | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  17. You paint with your lens and the results are spectacular!

    Comment by truddle | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  18. The lighting is excellent and the colors are so beautiful!

    Comment by kml | March 30, 2008 | Reply

  19. very stunning iris portrait Bernie. The light is perfect. hopefully spring brings you some good wildflowers. I’m hoping our season will last a few more weeks.

    Comment by Richard Wong | April 1, 2008 | Reply

  20. It’s time Bernie! Everything is coming up around here. I can’t imagine it’s not nearly the same on the other side of these mountains!

    Comment by davidlind | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  21. ah coach, this is so exquisite.. the colors sing!

    Comment by Cindy | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  22. Excellent photo. Lighting and composition are right on and the color is fantastic. I guess you don’t need to be outdoors to get a great shot and have some fun.

    Comment by Augphoto | April 5, 2008 | Reply

  23. A flattering portrait of a lovely subject!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  24. Time to get out of the house and shoot some fun stuff. It hsould be fast approaching Gobbler season in your direction. Not that the masses of this blog care to see a Turkey, but it is a reason to hit the woods and see what is out there. Life here is creeping toward summer time quickly. Speaking of which, could be ripe for a visit this direction. Oh yeah, nice picture, pretty darn vivid for a polaroid shot. HeHe

    Comment by conchlife | April 8, 2008 | Reply

  25. I’m still waiting for wildflowers as well. Just garden stuff now, crocuses are past, now squill are blooming. Excellent color and light in this one!

    Comment by tomwhelan | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  26. I stumbled upon your site and am very glad I did. Your work is stunning. Thank you.

    Comment by bells | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  27. Wow!
    Excellent shot!

    Comment by toronto best wedding photographer | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

