Madison Indiana Photography

Spring is Finally Here !!


After a very long cold and snowy winter spring finally came to Southern Indiana and Madison, the wildflowers are really bursting out all over the place and I have been getting a few decent shots, everyday brings forth more color and varieties so I should have a few images to post real soon.

I took a hike the night before last and got a few flower images but I also got this image of the cascade below Hoffman Falls in Clifty Fall State Park, the sun was setting behind me and gave the scene a shot of some interesting light. I am not sure I like the bright spot on the right side of the image, but I still think it turned out pretty good.

The creeks and falls are running wide open since we have received about 20 inches of rain since March 1, no kidding 20 inches, so I have been getting a few landscape shots as well. All in all it looks like spring may turn out a lot better than I first thought it would.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

April 8, 2008 - Posted by | Clifty Falls, creek, hiking, Hoffman Branch, image, images, indiana, landscapes, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photography, random, state parks, travel, waterfalls

25 Comments »

  1. This is a wonderful shot, great work! 🙂

    Comment by badkittyartstudio | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. 20 inches – WOW!
    Great falls, thrilled with the coming of spring, yes?

    Comment by Bo | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. That’s a breathtaking photo. Thanks for sharing. And here in northern Illinois, spring has yet to arrive. (Mid-40s today with a very cold rain).

    Comment by m. e. | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. Nice comp Bernie. I suppose the sunshine is debatable, but I sure like the light on the foreground rocks.

    Comment by Mark | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  5. Beautiful/awesome photo. I really like this.. Good work.

    Comment by Paul | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. Great Bernie.

    Absolutely beautiful.

    And I thought you were caught up in the NCAA’s 😉

    R(etc…)

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  7. I like that bright spot. It draws my eye to it, then I leisurely scan back across the rest of the photo and savor it. Great work!

    Comment by montucky | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  8. I am so glad that spring has finally arrived!

    Comment by mon@rch | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  9. Very beautiful image Bernie. I like the small bright spot. Artists are taught to either have a small light or dark spot to contrast with the whole. Very nice.

    Comment by paintingartist | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  10. Very nice. I like all of it and I’m so happy Spring reached you over there on the other side of these mountains. Thanks for your recent comments too. They have been very uplifting.

    Comment by davidlind | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  11. hey great shot and nice light! I wish I was there with you! Not much going on here in the “Sands”. Been back n forth from BIAP a bunch. You always know how to work the water and bring out those greens. Can’t wait to get back and get to working on our plans. Have you worked out the location yet? Later, JT

    Comment by army man | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  12. Great shot. I like the silky water at the bottom.

    Comment by Howard Grill | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  13. Lovely soft water – a beautiful photograph, and I bet you’re glad to be out in the spring!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  14. Lovely, Bernie. I like the spot of brighter light, too. It gives an extra touch of realism to an idyllic scene.

    Comment by Bobbie | April 11, 2008 | Reply

  15. That is an impressive amount of rain Bernie. I really like how the warm light adds to the scene. I think you got it just right with that. Any more and it’d be contrasty, and any less there wouldn’t be any light.

    Comment by Richard Wong | April 11, 2008 | Reply

  16. I love waterfall shots…nice…

    Comment by Marketingstar | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  17. Spring lighting can be tricky. With no leaves on the trees and a still relatively low sun angle, hard tree trunk shadows start cutting across everything. Hey, it still beats frostbite, eh?

    The rocks in the foreground are what make this photo for me.

    MDW

    Comment by forestrat | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  18. Yep, I think it is beginning to arrive here too. Your falls are beautiful with the soft water!

    Comment by kml | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  19. Oh, what I would give to be back home again and wander Indiana.

    Comment by HoosierTim | April 14, 2008 | Reply

  20. Very nice. Reminds me of the Niagara Escarpment. 🙂

    Comment by Lana | April 14, 2008 | Reply

  21. i have been here numerous times but never commented.
    Beautiful picture, and the amazing part is that your pictures actually load fully and rather quickly!
    Thanks for taking and sharing this

    Comment by Mr. B2B | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  22. That is a wonderfully well-captured waterfall

    Comment by Gerald | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  23. lovely photo! original Bernie style!

    Comment by ankush vimawala | April 21, 2008 | Reply

  24. oh… this is so pretty. I think I have fallen in love with ur photos.

    Comment by wencrafting | June 30, 2008 | Reply

  25. Tough lighting conditions with such a dynamic range of light from darks to highlights. I’m not a big fan of HDR but this is the kind of scene which HDR is good at. Still, very well done.

    We had some warm spring days last week in upstate NY. Now, it’s looking like the cold that’s been out west is going to be making it’s way east. A bit of a slow down for the start of April.

    Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | April 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

