Madison Indiana Photography

“Dutchman’s Breeches”


The wildflowers here in Southern Indiana are really starting to put on a show, now if I could ever get the wind to stop blowing long enough to where I could a few more shots I would be more than happy, but I will take what I can get.

I shot these little flowers the other night at Clifty Falls and I don’t think they turned out to bad for such a windy evening. The Dutchman’s Breeches are a funky little flower that resemble someones trouser’s, hence the name I guess, but when the wind blows they are a beast to shoot and I try not spend a whole lot of time trying to shoot one.

Hopefully I will be able to get a wider variety of wildflowers the next couple of weeks and share them with you. It is great time to be outdoors right now so even if I don’t get a bunch of keeper shots I will still be happy to be outside.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look !

April 17, 2008 - Posted by | Clifty Falls, dutchman's breeches, flora, flowers, hiking, image, indiana wildflowers, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, travel, wildflowers

29 Comments »

  1. What amazing looking flowers. Almost alien. the leaves look like European parsley.

    I love the saturated colour.

    Comment by razzbuffnik | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. hmm…that’s beautiful, the color is nice…

    Comment by Shadowish Bright | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow Bernie, that’s really nice! Feels good again, doesn’t it?

    Comment by montucky | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. It is so good to see some flowers again! We still have over a foot of snow, but the first flowers are starting to show up in the sunny spots.

    This is a great picture of a fascinating flower, but those green leaves really make this for me!

    Comment by Minna | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. very beautiful work. wonderful contrast

    Comment by vaggelis vlahos | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. Great shot in the wind. Flying breeches, hey?

    Comment by Bo | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  7. Those are funky Bernie, they look like blown up white gloves… very cool…

    R(etc…)

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  8. that is gorgeous..it looks as if the flower is a hand with gloves!

    Comment by Marketingstar | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  9. Great job, Bernie! I wish we had these around Missouri…I’ve never run across them in any of our forests or parks but they are such a unique wildflower!

    Comment by HeyJules | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  10. Beautiful shot of an interesting flower! Love the muted greens in the background. Wind often frustrates me when photographing wildflowers, but as you say, at least I’m outside!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  11. Nice to see and hear you are out and about. Don’t suffer from Vitamin D overload with too much sunlight. I am about to pull the trigger on my first digital SLR..a baby d40 and am geting the training wheels with a 55-200 VR lens. I will let you know when it arrives ..so you can make fun of my first shots…….No I am not near brave enough to get some these awesome macro lenses that you are using. I’ll just suffer lens envy for a while. Cool looking little flowers in your picture….well shot.

    Comment by conchlife | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  12. Fine, fine, fine … image. Not only is it beautiful but it has a great storyline or emotional connection to the viewer. Well placed flower I think it creates a nice flow through the photo.

    Comment by paintingartist | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  13. Some really exotic looking wildflowers you got in Indiana Bernie. I like how the background drops to black and the quality of light on the green foliage. Masterfully executed shot!

    Comment by Richard Wong | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  14. I enjoy Indiana in the spring also.Nicely shot photo. I believe the flower is in the same family as a common cultivated one called “bleeding heart” but I could be mistaken.

    Comment by Max | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  15. Nice flower shot. I especially like the position of the flowers in the shot.

    Comment by kirispupis | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  16. WOW – they are very different – they look like little hands reaching up. They appear very delicate – thanks for sharing them with us!

    Comment by kml | April 18, 2008 | Reply

  17. It won’t be long before these are coming up in my neck of the woods. Nice shot here Bernie. I like your use of DOF.

    Comment by Mark | April 19, 2008 | Reply

  18. Nice composition. The bloodroot is just starting here – you’re a few weeks ahead of us I think.

    Comment by tomwhelan | April 20, 2008 | Reply

  19. Very nice! I’ve added you to my blogroll, if that’s okay with you..?

    Comment by Lana | April 20, 2008 | Reply

  20. This is a beautiful shot Bernie and I’m completely looking forward to the April treasures in your area! (i completely understand the wind issue…. I’m finding it to be a problem myself.) This little plant is a beauty it amazes me the shapes sizes and variety that nature produces! Mind-blowing!

    Comment by aullori | April 21, 2008 | Reply

  21. lovely shot, these flowers look like hands, i like your placement of the ‘hands’ in the frame

    Comment by ankush vimawala | April 21, 2008 | Reply

  22. wooo….what a beauty!

    Comment by Sumedh | April 22, 2008 | Reply

  23. One of my all time favorite wildflowers! I saw some of these leaves the other day but the flowers have not come out yet!

    Comment by mon@rch | April 22, 2008 | Reply

  24. Bernie, I love your photography. You do such a great job with flowers and with water!

    Comment by Sioux | April 22, 2008 | Reply

  25. Lovely, Bernie. What an extraordinary wildflower.

    Comment by Bobbie | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  26. Beautiful shot.Let me have some tips how to take wildflower.
    How exactly do we control Depth of Field?

    Comment by visuallens | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  27. I think it’s great how the flowers are in the forground, and their supporting leaves are clearly in the background. I think it does a good job seperating the subject, as well as setting up their relationship, the leaves being a supporting structure for the flowers.

    Comment by cruxphoto | May 1, 2008 | Reply

  28. The name of these wildflowers is perfect, isn’t it?
    It looks like your long winter has produced a beautiful reward. Beautiful work, Bernie!

    Comment by Photo Buffet | May 6, 2008 | Reply

  29. Very nice image of Dutchman’s Breeches. I like that you captured the leaves also.

    Comment by Anita Bower | April 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

