Madison Indiana Photography

“Clifty Falls Columbine “


I have a lot of images I need to post but have been very far behind because of work related issues, this is a shot from Clifty Falls State Park, it took me a long time for this one and I am not really sure about the bg in this as well.

The wind had been blowing very hard that evening as it has been all spring, and when it finally died down I was almost out of light, but I waited it out and come out with this shot of the Wild Columbine. We had just experienced a little shower that just added to the beauty of this flower, but I am not sure if the bg in this might be a touch busy, I guess I can leave that up to the viewer since I am up in the air on it.

David asked me for a little commentary but right now I have been so busy with work that not much has been happening here, I hope everyone is having a nice spring, ours has been very cool and wet which has led to a lot of nice images for me.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

May 22, 2008 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, closeup, columbine, flora, flower photography, flowers, hiking, image, indiana wildflowers, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, photography, random, wildflowers

18 Comments »

  1. If this is a sample of what you’ve been saving, I can hardly wait to see the rest! Beautiful!

    Comment by montucky | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Masterful, Bernie. Just lovely.

    Bobbie

    Comment by The Right Blue | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. Mighty fine image Bernie. I love the saturation and I think the background is nice gradually drawing you in not being totally blured out.

    Comment by Artist Boyd Greene | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. Very vibrant shot Bernie, and goes well with the saturation often brought out by the wet weather.

    Comment by Mark | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ooh, pretty! Crimson Columbine is one of my very favorite wildflowers (then again I say that about quite a few wildflowers :). Anyways, nicely seen & captured!

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. every new photo of yours is a tribute to nature. well done again

    Comment by vaggelis vlahos | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Really nice Bernie. Great capture…

    R(etc… )

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Very nice. I don’t think the bg’s too busy. You have enough contrast & foreground interest to push the bg back.

    Comment by Lana | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  9. Very nice. I really enjoy the colors in this.

    Comment by davidlind | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  10. I don’t mind the diffused background – the fower is plenty to keep your eye focused there. I love this wildflower, mine aren’t quite in bloom in my yard, but soon.

    Comment by Bo | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  11. The water is very refreshing. The black background helps the colors really pop. Great work as always Bernie!

    Comment by Richard Wong | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  12. Bernie, this is rich & refreshing!
    The bg doesn’t seem busy to me; in fact, it adds depth.

    Comment by Photo Buffet | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  13. Thank you for sharing. That photo is really beautiful. I love the detail, the droplets of water.

    Comment by Claudine (longlocks) | May 29, 2008 | Reply

  14. Nothing wrong with the bg – the flower stands out well and the raindrops just add to the beauty!

    Comment by kml | May 29, 2008 | Reply

  15. Very pretty capture, nice job!

    Comment by Dirty Laundry Diva | May 31, 2008 | Reply

  16. Very nice shot…I posted an article on taking better flower picture and you are one of the blogs that may have the answer to it.

    Comment by visuallens | June 1, 2008 | Reply

  17. Really nice shot! 🙂

    Comment by 2sweetnsaxy | June 7, 2008 | Reply

  18. Thanks for all the comments guys !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | June 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

