Lily of the Valley


Here is a shot of a not so wildflower, Lily of the Valley, a women I work with brought me a cupful of these not to long ago wondering if I could get her an image of her favorite flower.

After she dug them up and presented them to me I didn’t think I stood a chance of getting anything remotely positive out of this bunch of flowers, everything I usually shoot is either fresh cut or still in the ground, but with digital photography just about anything is possible and they actually turned out pretty nice.

I had to tape them to the back ground to keep them from drooping any farther and really had to work with the cloning tool to take out the brown and dried spots that had begun to form. What had started out to be a no way situation actually ended up being kinda of a challenge that I really enjoyed trying to pull off.

That has to be one of my favorite things about photography, and that is the ability to take a mundane object and turn into something beautiful, with the help of Photoshop and tape !!

23 thoughts on “Lily of the Valley

  1. Lana

    I soooo miss Lilly of the Valley–the subtle beauty AND the delicious smell. Alas, they don’t grow here in the sub-tropics. <:(

    Reply
  2. Photo Buffet

    Bernie!
    The dark background was a great choice for these dainty flowers. I like what you’ve done–goes to show you that with a little imagination and tweaking, you can shoot a fabulous image of just about anything! Nice.

    Reply
  3. army man

    All that creativity and a wonderful wit to go with it! This is a great shot, as if you could ever make a bad one! I love the story behind the photo aspect as well. I hope your friend was well pleased as this is a beaut. Later, JT

    Reply
  4. gayejohnson

    We don’t have these in this part of the country…thanks to YOU, Photoshop and tape you made a beautiful picture.

    Thanks for reminding me of such a lovely flower..I’d almost forgotten about it..

    Reply
  5. Carol Turner

    My favorite flower is a peppermint carnation but my mother’s favorite was lily-of-the-valley. She always grew some on the side of our house and I remember bringing them to her often in a jelly jar. Alas I don’t have the green thumb that she had and I can’t grow them in Kansas. An exquisite photo! It shows off the delicate flower very well!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Hardened » Blog Archive » lily of the valley photos

Leave a Reply

