Madison Indiana Photography

“Madison Indiana JFD Lanier Mansion”


I thought I might post something a little different, I shot this one last March after about a foot of snow, I really liked the beautiful warm light in this, the only problem was I shot it as a jpeg which limits my ability to blow the image up very large.

I thought I would post this image because in a couple of weeks we will be hosting the Madison Chautauqua in this very spot and I thought it might make a “cool” contrast to the end of summer event. In excess of 50,000 plus will crowd the Historic district of Madison Indiana to view the various arts and crafts that will line the city streets.

And hopefully the gallery me and a friend of mine are working on will finally be open for the event, when we get the “West Street Art Center” up and going for sure I will try to really use this blog to push this endeavor, and let you all in on all the events and other happenings we hope to put on here.

I hope you like the image and if you get a chance to come to the Madison Chautauqua maybe you can stop by and take a look to see what we are doing.

September 10, 2008 - Posted by | architecture, art, history, image, indiana, Madison Indiana, nature, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, state parks, thoughts, travel, West Street Art Center, winter

16 Comments »

  1. good luck with the gallery project!
    sounds exciting, look forward to hear more about it

    Comment by ankush | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great news Bernie, I know you’ve been working on it for a long while, glad to see it come to fruition, I’m happy for you.

    R(etc… )

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. […] Read the rest here… […]

    Pingback by Luxury Act » Blog Archive » “Madison Indiana JFD Lanier Mansion” | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. Beautiful building, and you had the perfect time to photograph it!

    Best of luck with the gallery project!

    Comment by montucky | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. Wish I could be there. I’m sure it’ll be a great time!
    The thing I like most about the picture is the complimentary colors; the blue against the orange, but both subtle, not obnoxious. Very nice!

    Comment by Lana | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. i wish you the best for the gallery. as for the photo i think it’s perfect for a change and refresh.

    Comment by vaggelis vlahos | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. Bernie,
    Thanks for taking the time to stop at my blog. If you do get down in October and go to Ding Darling please let me know and I’ll meet you there. I’m between Naples and Cape Coral and not far from Ding. And good luck with your gallery. I look forward to seeing the whole event on your blog…… Good luck –but know you’re making that good luck happen 🙂 AND love your pictures today too.

    Comment by Gaye Johnson | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. Great contrasts in warm and cool light Bernie. Madison has a lot of beautiful architecture and its nice to see you post some of it.

    Comment by Richard Wong | September 11, 2008 | Reply

  9. I like the way you captured the shadows, they provide an identity to a non-human subject. Nice shot Bernie.

    Comment by offbeatnews | September 13, 2008 | Reply

  10. Perfect timing, love the light you’ve captured here! Good work!

    Comment by Andy | September 14, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hey buddy,could use some of that snow in Iraqas it is still routinely around 112 every day. Good luck with the gallery and can’t wait to get a look at it all! Later, JT

    Comment by army man | September 14, 2008 | Reply

  12. good luck with your gallery Bernie, I’m sure it will do well!

    Comment by Cindy | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  13. Beautiful image Bernie. Awesome to have a gallery and I hope you do very well in the upcoming show, it sounds like a great event.

    Comment by Artist Boyd Greene | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  14. Sounds like you have been really busy with this big project. Hope all goes well with it and look forward to hearing more about it. Good luck!

    Comment by kml | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  15. Beautiful lights falling on the Mansion !

    All the best with your Gallery Project !

    Geng Hui
    http://photojournalism-tgh.blogspot.com

    Comment by Geng Hui | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  16. Bernie,
    I am looking forward to your gallery.As I am staying far away i will come back to check it out.

    Comment by visuallens | September 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

