Madison Indiana Photography

“Sunrise Over Madison Indiana”


Here is one from the other morning, I waded out onto a sandbar to get the perspective upriver, the light shining thru the morning fog was absolutely gorgeous that morning. I wasn’t really sure if I liked the ducks in the image but now after looking at it I don’t particularly think they hurt it either.

I really like shooting this bridge it just seems to give me so many different moods when I am able to photograph it, I would also like to spend more time shooting river images but I just can’t seem to be able to cram enough of hours into a day. I always say I am going to make it a point to shoot more of a certain type of image  and then usually something in life gets in the way.

I am just hoping to get enough time to shoot some images from this coming fall. I plan on a couple quick trips to the Smokies and then some work at Clifty and that will probably take what spare time I have, then it’s on to winter  which I am really not looking forward to.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look I hope you enjoy the images I really appreciate all the comments and support you have giving me over the last year or so and hopefully I will be able to share a image or two you might like in the coming weeks.  ( Best seen Large)

October 8, 2008 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, fall, history, image, indiana, landscapes, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photographer, photography, pictures, random, state parks, sunrise, travel, West Street Art Center

24 Comments »

  1. That’s a great shot, Bernie! In my opinion, the ducks are just what it needs! Beautiful!

    Comment by montucky | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have had a few people tell me that Terry, but sometimes I second guess myself an awful lot, thanks for taking a look !

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. So many beautiful aspects to this shot. I love that the only 2 colors are almost totally complimentary. I love the juxtaposition of the ducks (nature,) in front of the bridge (man-made.) I love the “mists” represented both as fog & clouds. I love the contrast of light & dark, made more intriguing by the shielding of sun by the clouds. Awesome, all the way around.

    Comment by Lana Gramlich | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. Very nice. Peaceful. And the bridge seems to be a source of stability here and determined to remain standing.

    Comment by davidlind | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. I love it. And the ducks just bring something out in it.

    Comment by silverstar98121 | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  6. As they say, life’s what happens when you’re making other plans! I also haven’t been out photographing/birding/hiking very much at all. So it goes.

    I agree w/Lana that the color palette in this photo is wonderful, and the spindly silhouette of the birdge is a great contrast to the wispy clouds & mist. Keep the ducks for sure, but perhaps lose the truck 🙂

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. Beautiful image, Bernie. I think the ducks add a nice touch to the serene setting!

    Comment by HeyJules | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  8. Great capture Bernie. Every element is perfect.

    R(etc… )

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  9. Very beautiful sunrise photo!

    Comment by RecycleCindy | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  10. beautiful shot, i think the ducks fit in well as well

    Comment by ankush | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  11. Bang Bang

    Comment by Duckhunter | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  12. Wonderful mood captured here Bernie. It speaks to exactly why we get out there.

    Comment by Mark | October 10, 2008 | Reply

  13. Great composition Bernie. Just enough action but still laid back! My kind of photo!!! Beautiful shot.

    Comment by Artist Boyd Greene | October 10, 2008 | Reply

  14. Wow. You got some great bridge shots Bernie. I like that gray foggy one also. Btw, what is the name of that bridge?

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 10, 2008 | Reply

  15. It is the Madison-Milton Bridge Richard.

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 11, 2008 | Reply

  16. great shot, luv the ducks! I never knew there were sandbars that close to the edge. Trip back was brutal and had lost bag to boot! Still looking like Thanksgiving but wont be done till week after. Keep shooting and I hope the art cewnter starts to blossom for you. Later, JT

    Comment by army man | October 11, 2008 | Reply

  17. Lovely ! Always love to view sunrise or sunset from different parts of the world !

    Always something different and unique !

    Comment by JH | October 11, 2008 | Reply

  18. Thank you for sharing the beauty of Madison Indiana. I personally have an great affinity for bridges in photography.

    Here in Charleston we had these two great bridges called the Twin Spans. They connected Charleston SC to our barrier Islands. It was a sad day to see them destroyed. They live on only through photography now, and the images we hold dear in our minds’ eye.

    Perhaps one day, when this “old” bridge sees its demise, your outstanding portrait will bring someone great joy to remember “when it used to be”.

    Awesome photography.

    Comment by Laurel LaFlamme | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  19. The morning fog really makes the photo. Beautiful!

    Comment by cruxphoto | October 16, 2008 | Reply

  20. Thanks for all the compliments and stopping by !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  21. Great job on this one Bernie. The elements in the photo come together beautifully!

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  22. nice picture. reminds me of the SF golden gate bridge, where theres always clouds on or above the bridge and very scenic.
    -jack

    Comment by Salt lake Photographer | December 19, 2008 | Reply

  23. Bernie,
    I am taking your comment about sharing information about Madison to heart. I am recently retired and looking at the beauty of Indiana, especially to the south for a place to live. I hope to come to town around the last two weeks of April and wondered if you would meet me or send information that might help me explore the area, including affordable places to live, tax laws etc. I don’t really know about using this site and am thus hoping your response might come to my email address jallenww@juno.com.

    I am currently in Richmond IN, having left New Haven, Conn a few months ago.
    Best regards, Judith Allen

    Comment by judith allen | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

