Madison Indiana Photography

“Impressionistic Reflections”


Been kind of slow around here lately , really bad fall this year no colors, now it is so blasted cold in November I don’t even want to go outside.  At least I am not coaching basketball this year, for the first time in fifteen years, so I really don’t have an excuse for not getting any work done….Rightttt!!!

So I have been working some images I did get earlier this fall, and this is one of them, a shot of the reflections and only the reflections of a group of trees in a creek. I was trying to create one of those impressionistic images I have been seeing on the net the last few weeks, hopefully this comes close to what I was after.  I kinda like the effect but I am not to sure about the color, I wish I could have got some vivid fall colors in this but it wasn’t meant to be this year.

I guess I am going to have to make some visits to the florist so I can start shooting again and get the old creative juices flowing, thanks for stopping by and having a look !!

impressionistic-reflection-11

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | abstract, art, blogging, creek, fall, flowers, image, indiana, landscapes, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, thoughts

26 Comments »

  1. I always like shooting reflections too, Bernie. There are some interesting colors here, especially the very subtle ones at the right top!

    Comment by montucky | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Really beautiful Bernie…

    Look on the bright side, it’ll warm uo in 5 monts or so… 😉

    R(etc… )

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks Terry, and Ron, thank you for pointing out it’s only five months !!!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. awesome reflections here Bernie!

    Comment by ankush vimawala | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. Looks good Bernie. I’m sure you are going through a major transition without the basketball. Filling a void that large can be a challenge. But you can do it. I’m sure you can do it.

    Photography can help you do it. It’s going to be around long after basketball is a distant memory.

    Comment by davidlind | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. I kind of like this one, Bernie. It’s different. Different is good.

    MDW

    Comment by forestrat | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  7. this is soo beautiful
    the stillness of the water makes it look just like a mirror with that oldtimey ripple in it
    CheyAnne

    Comment by CheyAnne Sexton | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  8. I like the reflection and it’s nice.

    Comment by visuallens | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  9. Stunning, Bernie. The contrasty colors really give this one eye appeal.

    Comment by The Right Blue | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  10. Thanks for the comments guys, went to a ball game last night and it about killed me, it is a tough habit to break !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  11. Great shot Bernie. One of the best I’ve seen in this genre.

    I’m surprised that you guys had no color this year.

    Comment by Richard Wong | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  12. I love impressionist shots like this – well done.
    Enjoy your Thanksgiving, Bernie.
    When the snow flies, there will be plenty of new scenes to get. A mixed blessing there, for sure…
    Bo

    Comment by Bo | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  13. Don’t feel bad about not getting out Bernie, same here. Didn’t shoot much fall color at all, and before I knew it, it was below freezing. Crazy midwest weather!

    Comment by Mark | November 28, 2008 | Reply

  14. I love the cool tones. I’ve always enjoyed shooting reflections, myself. Sometimes I flip them upside down, which makes for quite a surreal scene!

    Comment by Lana | November 29, 2008 | Reply

  15. Nice composition Bernie. A man could daydream all day looking into water or watching clouds.

    Colors were better here than expected but not great.

    Comment by Artist Boyd Greene | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  16. It works for me. You might try saturating the magenta a little bit in the lower right. But, it is a “wall hanger” just the way it is. Nice work!

    Too bad your color was not up to par this year. I have heard others say the same thing in various parts of the country. Hopefully, next year will be better for everyone!

    Comment by Sherri Meyer | December 4, 2008 | Reply

  17. That is truly lovely – it could be an impressionist painting

    Comment by wren | December 6, 2008 | Reply

  18. Bernie-
    I would love to post a link to each of your photo updates on Southern Indiana Times so that people can follow your blog. I have visited your blog often for the past couple of years and would love to send other people to see your wonderful pictures.

    I will put the links up later today. Please let me know if you do not want the links (but I don’t know why you wouldn’t!).

    Best

    Eric Blackwell
    Jeffersonville Indiana

    Comment by Eric Blackwell | December 7, 2008 | Reply

  19. lovely abstract quality coach.. well seen and taken as always!

    Comment by Cindy | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  20. That’s ana amazingly creative shot! Well captured and expressed!

    Comment by Sumedh Prasad | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  21. Hope you are well. Have a great holiday.

    Comment by davidlind | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  22. Merry Christmas.Have a nice holiday

    Comment by visuallens | December 26, 2008 | Reply

  23. Great picture! I love how the trees show up blue in the reflection.

    Comment by Christina G | January 7, 2009 | Reply

  24. hey Bernie, hope you are still around out there. Happy New Year!

    Comment by Mark | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  25. Very much like a fine painting! Beautiful Bernie.

    Comment by Truddle | January 9, 2009 | Reply

  26. Stunning photo! You have a lot of very nice photos on your blog. I will be back!

    Comment by Michele | January 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

