Madison Indiana Photography

“Madison Indiana Ice Storm “


It has once again been a long time since I posted anything here, since my last post my computer has crashed and I had to buy a new one but the new one didn’t work , so after along and frustrating process I finally found one I think will work out.  Thankfully I had all my images backed up but I lost a bunch of software and I then had to go out and repurchase that and I went ahead and bought CS4 as well, none of this was cheap I can promise you that, but as of right now I am shooting images and processing again.

If that wasn’t bad enough we have had a pretty cold winter and about two weeks ago in the middle of the night our furnace broke down, that was another major purchase and something else to go wrong, I guess maybe I am just doing my little part to help stimulate the economy. But as bad as all that seems it can be much worse and it is for many people in our part of the country !!

One of the worst ice storms in recent memory has crippled a large part of our area, mostly Central Kentucky and South Central Indiana, over 500,000 are without power and are not expected to get it back for 7-10 days.  Here in Madison power outages were limited to about 1800 but the father west into the county you went power outages were much more numerous and the damage widespread. I went thru a week without power after Hurricane Ike carved a path of widespread damage thru the area, but that was in September and the weather was warm, I couldn’t even begin to understand what it would be like to do it thru the coldest part of winter.

Hopefully the power crews can get everyone up and running soon and people can resume somewhat of a normal life. I have tried to get out and get a few shots but the roads have been so bad that even with my four-wheel drive travel has been treacherous at best, I shot a few images that were close to home but I think today I will be able to travel and get more images to share.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a great day.

jpg-winter2

January 30, 2009 - Posted by | art, ice, image, images, indiana, landscapes, life, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photography, pictures, random, thoughts, travel, winter

17 Comments »

  1. Welcome back Bernie, you’ve been missed…

    R(etc… )

    Comment by Ron in L.A. | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  2. Finally I can see your nice photo again…The ice storm is bad as the weather must be very very cold.I just can’t imagine how to go through the daily schedule without power for 7-10 days…

    Comment by Visuallens | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  3. I think you’ve done your part for the economy, Bernie. Hope you won’t be required to do more! Sure glad you saved your images! Good to see you back around again, and it really like that photo. It says so much about the season!

    Comment by montucky | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ice makes interesting photos but tough on the electric! Stunning photos my friend!

    Comment by mon@rch | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  5. My sympathies on your recent problems, hon. I know what the furnace thing is like–mine once died Jan. 1st when I lived in Canada & the responsible company didn’t come out for days. Lovely photo, of course (although I still don’t miss dark, snow & cold!)

    Comment by Lana | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  6. I was wondering where you’ve been, Bernie! Sorry about all the unexpected expenditures but glad to see you back doing photography again.

    Beautiful image here. It’s so hard to find snow scenes that are still in pristine shape – there’s always somebody who has to go four wheelin’ and mess it up for the rest of us. 🙂

    Comment by HeyJules | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. Very nice.

    Comment by davidlind | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  8. Such a pretty shot of the ice storm results.

    Comment by RecycleCindy | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  9. What a great shot! Thanks for sharing….and stay warm.

    Comment by ImaNicePerson | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  10. This is incredible Bernie. I’m sure you guys are used to it but sometimes I just wish to experience a snowfall in my neighborhood if even just one time in my life.

    Comment by Richard Wong | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  11. This is a very nice photo, great capture ! The road is so quiet, tranquil and peaceful.

    On the other hand, it must really be freezing cold with the ice storm and traffic disruption.

    Keep warm and take more winter photos !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  12. I’m sure all that snow and ice has been a pain in many ways, but with this photo you turned lemons into lemonade, so to speak. It’s really lovely.

    Bobbie

    Comment by The Right Blue | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  13. Beautiful capture

    Comment by hkkki | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  14. wow, thats an awesome shot Bernie! welcome back, and congratulations on all the new purchases including cs4!
    look forward to seeing more awesomeness coming from your way. thanks for stopping by and saying hi, welcome back!

    Comment by ankush | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  15. Thanks for commenting and stopping by !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 15, 2009 | Reply

  16. Nice viewpoint Bernie. I love how you feel like you don’t know where you are going. Great depth.

    Comment by Artist Boyd Greene | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  17. Hi there!

    Im a fellow photographer living in Hanover In just outside of Madison, How nice to find this blog!

    Comment by camahta | April 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

