Madison Indiana Photography

‘Wild Geranium”


I guess I better post them while I have got a chance, I shot this one at Clifty Falls Sate Park a couple of days ago, this is the first shot of this lovely little flower that I have been happy with.  Many times in search of this flower I have either been too late or in the wrong place, I got lucky with this one and hit it at the right time, I would have liked to have been able to get a little more dof out of this one but the wind was just strong enough to force me too shoot at a higher stop.

As of right now the woodland flowers have all but disappeared from the area and all that is left is in bad condition, it has been a pretty good year with lots of rain, but the cool weather has caused a lot of the blooms to get spots or other markings on them. I might post a couple more after this one, but if the rain continues I might be able to concentrate on the waterfalls and streams that dot our area before summer arrives and everything drys up.

I hope everyone is having  a great day and thanks for stopping by and taking a look !!

wild-geranium-2-20092

May 4, 2009 - Posted by | art, bluebells, Clifty Falls, creek, flora, floral, flower photography, flowers, hiking, image, images, indiana wildflowers, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, random, state parks, thoughts, waterfalls, Wild Geranium, wildflowers

13 Comments »

  1. Beautiful shot! I think the DOF is just great as it is.

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Beautiful. I love the way the stamens pop. They just jump out at you. The detail in the petals is good and the background very nice. An all-around winner.

    Comment by edvatza | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. That’s an excellent shot all around, Bernie! Wonderful!

    Comment by montucky | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks guys it was a bear to get, a lot of sliding in the mud and trying to get the tripod stable but I think it turned out alright !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. excellent dof here. great composition

    Comment by vaggelis vlahos | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. I still think being simplistic is the most important aspect of capturing wildflowers.. it’s also amazingly difficult in the field. You did fabulous here – the background is smooth, barely hinting at it’s environment and focusing on the stamens… classic wildflower shot. Your best? No. Visually appealing absolutely.

    Comment by aullori | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  7. I love the depth of field here. Great shot!

    Comment by Lana | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  8. Beautifully cyan blue colour here. Wonderful floral image

    Comment by roentarre | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  9. Lovely flowers !

    Very nice to view different types of flowers across different parts of the world, nice bokeh and sharp photo !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  10. You know, for some reason I always thought you were a woman, or is Bernie a girl’s name?

    Comment by Descartes | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  11. I’ll join the crowd Bernie. I think the DOF is perfect. Very nice image.

    Comment by Mark | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  12. Perfect Macro focus on this! Bravo!

    Comment by mon@rch | May 13, 2009 | Reply

  13. Thanks for all the comments guys !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | May 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

