Madison Indiana Photography

“Crooked Creek Madison Indiana”


I spent this past weekend hiking  a little known jewel that lies within the city of Madison Indiana.  Crooked Creek is a small tributary of the Ohio River that gets it start near the intersection of highway 421 and 62 in Jefferson County Indiana, from it’s junction with the Ohio River and thru most of it’s trip thru Madison it is a slow mostly dry and trash strewn creek, but in it’s upper reaches and after a heavy summer rain this place can become just as magical as any other mountain stream.

When summer storms fill this hollow with rain the many cascades and  small waterfalls come alive and give the viewer a natural treat to wade thru and  enjoy on a hot summer afternoon. At the end of the pleasant hike up the canyon a 50 ft cascading waterfall awaits the hiker, but this year after the heavy rains and windstorms the path is all but impassible with large trees and other debris blocking the view and path, but nature will cure this problem and in no time the hollow will be cleared again to view this beautiful scene.

Madison Indiana sits in a perfect position geographically because of all the beautiful waterfalls that dot our county, at least 15 falls that are 40 ft or bigger line the canyons and gorges that make up our county, from Eastern Jefferson county all the way down to Saluda Bottoms we are blessed with unique formations that give us a natural experience like no other in Indiana.

I am also sure they are many more I know nothing about and if you happen to be reading this and know of one shoot me an e-mail or phone call, I would really love to check it out !!

Crooked Creek 1 2009

Crooked Creek 3 2009

Crooked Creek 4 2009

And here is a song to go with it..            

August 3, 2009 - Posted by | Clifty Falls, creek, DSLR, hiking, indiana, life, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, photography, photos, pictures, random, state parks, Summer, thoughts, travel, waterfalls

26 Comments »

  1. looks like the kind of creek songs are written about

    Comment by Doctorate Upholder | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • It would make a great place for a song !

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Bernie- This certainly looks like a fantastic place for photography, your images make me want to visit your county.

    Tom

    Comment by Tom @ Ohio Nature | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Our area reminds me a lot of Hocking Hills which is probably somewhere in your neck of the woods !!

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Sweet! Whenever I visit your part of the state, it seems like I’ve stepped into a different place. Having always lived north of I-70, I think of Indiana as being flat and featureless!

    Comment by Jim | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • I know what you mean Jim, when I tell people I shoot images of Indiana all they say is I though Indiana was flat, then I have to show them some proof !

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. Those are beautiful scenes and your photos are kind to them too.

    Comment by montucky | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Terry, it doesn’t have real canyons or gorges like you do, but it works for me !!

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wonderful images and very well written text. We always photograph that which is closest to us and lies just outside the front door. From a neighbor over here in Ohio.

    Comment by Jim Crotty | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Jim, you are so right about that, great blog btw you have some amazing images there !!

      I will give you a link !

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  6. I do laugh when people around here way there’s nothing interesting to photograph. All they have to do is look around as nature still exists around our towns, villages and cities if they just look. I hope you find many other treasures such as this.

    Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | August 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Scott, sometimes you just have to wander about and things will find you !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  7. What a wonderfull photos.I want to say my friends to look your blog.
    I have a web site where I intend to add a link to your blog.
    Thanks for give me the oppurtunity to exchange links.

    Comment by Planet Markets Shopping Store | August 3, 2009 | Reply

  8. I like these cascades Bernie, especially the first one. I think that it may look great in autumn once trees will start to change their colours. Very nice place.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | August 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Tomas , I am hoping to get some water and color together !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  9. You are very fortunate to live so close to so many falls. All of these have their own unique character. I am enjoying these songs you are pairing up with the posts – very clever.

    Comment by Mark | August 4, 2009 | Reply

    • The only character they had today was swift and muddy !!!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  10. I just love silky moving water shots like these. Very nicely done, Bernie!

    Comment by edvatza | August 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Ed, we do have some nice falls i this area !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  11. Very lovely. Living for so long near Niagara Falls, I think I developed an extended appreciation of lower, quieter falls, as well.

    Comment by Lana | August 7, 2009 | Reply

    • I am sure these are much quieter Lana 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  12. Wow …. Many beautiful natural places in your region !

    Would love to hike into creeks, waterfalls, enjoy the peace, tranquility and fresh water and of course, lots of photography !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | August 8, 2009 | Reply

    • It is a great place to photograph and hike JH, thanks for stopping by !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  13. wow, beautiful! the first one is my fav!

    Comment by ankush | August 19, 2009 | Reply

  14. Mine too Ankush !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

