Madison Indiana Photography

“Gimme Shelter”


Strange title for a post about summer wildflowers don’t you think ?  Let me clear it up for you as best as I can, yesterday I spent the afternoon searching for wildflowers along a few of our old country roads here in Madison Indiana, the wind was giving me fits and the sun was beating down on me like I was in Death Valley. The search was starting to really take it out of me physically and emotionally, I would find a great batch of flowers and they would be consumed by the blinding sunlight or I would find something in the shade and the wind would blow like a small tornado.

I was tiring quickly of the constant driving ,stopping and pulling out equipment getting back in and then starting all over again !!  After a good two hours of driving time I drove into a deep tree lined ravine in Eastern Jefferson County and came across a good stand of flowers right on the road and so close to each other that I actually pulled right into them with my truck.

They were perfectly shaded and the wind stopped blowing for the first time that afternoon, as I pulled out all of my equipment and other photo essentials. I left the stereo on and the back door to my vehicle open, as I set up and started shooting. Everything worked perfectly for me and I churned out a variety of pictures of three different flowers, getting some nice images.

And maybe now you may have guessed as I started to fire away with my remote release, in the background cranking out of my stereo was a little tune by The Stones “Gimme Shelter” maybe it was a gift from Mick and the Boys but whatever it was it worked and for once things were really clicking as I shot away at all the beautiful flowers. So in honor of the afternoon I am sharing the video from The Stones with you and a couple of the many shots I got!!

BTW..The two images I am sharing are a Wild Chicory and Crown Beard.

Wild Chicory 4 2009

Crown Beard 1 2009

August 16, 2009 - Posted by | art, blue, calla lily, Chicory, Clifty Falls, flora, floral, flower photography, flowers, hiking, image, indiana, indiana wildflowers, life, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, random, thoughts, travel, wildflowers

33 Comments »

  1. wow.. the flowers are so pretty.. =)

    Comment by CaseyFolkstone | August 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by and taking a look !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. I enjoyed the story of your travails. I have experienced similar ones. I especially like the Crown Beard, a flower I don’t know. I like the Chicory’s of the other day better.
    Thank you for visiting my photoblog!

    Comment by Anita | August 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by Anita, I love the images on your blog !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like the color of that Wild Chicory.

    Comment by wildstorm | August 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for taking a look and leaving a comment !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yes, the perils of tracking down that elusive photo. Sounds like “Gimme Shelter”was just the tonic you needed.
    I’ve never seen the crown beard, a pretty thing. Nicely done, the perspective.

    Comment by Bo Mackison | August 17, 2009 | Reply

    • The Crown Beard was a new one for me as well Bo, the song was perfect for the day !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. Your perseverance is to be admired. In the heat, I just stay indoors and read blogs. 🙂

    Comment by Mark | August 17, 2009 | Reply

    • That’s what I usually do Mark, but I am trying to turn over a new leaf and shoot when the weather sucks 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. Looks like it was worth toughing it out Bernie! The shot of the Chicory is great and I enjoyed the Crown Beard too. That’s a new one to me.

    Comment by montucky | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  7. beautiful and lovely!

    Comment by joshi daniel | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. I like both images, Bernie and the Chic is excellent! I really like the combination of colours, the composition, and especially your choice of DOF which blurred the background so nicely with all those circles. It’s simply perfect to my eyes. The second one is very good as well, again I like your choice of DOF, sharpness and colours.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | August 17, 2009 | Reply

    • I like it as well Tomas, I think it works well with the bg, thanks for stopping by !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  9. your pictures are gorgeous! those flowers look so pretty.

    Comment by miss h | August 18, 2009 | Reply

  10. Great tune.
    I miss wild chicory. We had tons of it in Canada (among so many others.) It doesn’t grow down here in the subtropics, unfortunately. Worse than that, however, it’s just WAYYY too hot to go out shooting whatever DOES grow here in the Summer!

    Comment by Lana | August 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank Lana, it hasn’t been real hot here this year so I have taken advantage got out and shot a lot of images for once !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 18, 2009 | Reply

  11. I enjoy the flowers, but I also enjoy the creamy smoothness of these photos’ backgrounds.

    Comment by Jim | August 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Jim, the bg did come out really wel in these !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 18, 2009 | Reply

  12. very nice flowers buddy. very nice blog buddy. pls visit mine and click on some ADS. I’m ubuntusl http://slubuntu.blogspot.com

    Comment by ubuntusl | August 18, 2009 | Reply

  13. That’s funny, Bernie. I titled a post over at PhotoSynthesis on ScienceBlogs.com ‘Gimme Shelter’, too! Must’ve been in the air: great minds, etc. (My post was about little fishies, not flowers.)

    P.S. Can’t get over that wonderful periwinkle blue of the chicory.

    Comment by The Right Blue | August 18, 2009 | Reply

  14. Very nice bokeh from both photos !

    This period must be a good time to go out and capture flowers in full bloom ! The crown beard looks very interesting and unique, great to see more different flowers from the temperate climate countries.

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | August 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks JH, we have been having a great flower season this year !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 29, 2009 | Reply

  15. beautiful flower pics

    Comment by ankush | August 19, 2009 | Reply

  16. what a great macro photogtraph I’ve ever seen…I just in the begining of doing like this..

    Comment by Wayan Parmana | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by, and good luck with your photography !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 29, 2009 | Reply

  17. Very beautiful photos. Thanks fir your blog.

    Comment by stock | August 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

