Madison Indiana Photography

“Blurry”


A few weeks back I spent some time at a fish and wildlife area near my home here in Madison, when I came across this really cool mimosa tree.  I know a lot of people and most biologists consider this an invasive plant, and they can make quite a mess in your back yard, but this one was out in a field and was blooming profusely. The aroma of this tree seemed to float for miles and the blooms were quite extraordinary. It set back in a wood line and was hard to photograph as a whole so I spent my time with the macro lens and tripod and picked it apart !

The blooms were really amazing up close with all their intricate and beautifully colored stamens. They made quite a subject to work with and they came with a surprise or two as well. I shot some of the blooms as a whole subject but decided to move in close and work with the individual stamens. The long slender parts of the bloom made for a wonderful collection of abstract shots. Many of the images came out a bit “Blurry”. At first I wasn’t sure if I liked them or not but after getting home and processing them I came away feeling pretty happy with the results !

The first image came with a little visitor to the bloom in the form of a caterpillar which I thought added a really cool touch to the shot. The second image came out nice as well resembling some type of Alien life form or microscopic creature. All in all I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with all the images from that single tree. I shot over a hundred images from that one tree and got quite a few keepers. I was fortunate to have another productive shoot which makes up for all those bad days afield.

I thought the song by Puddle of Mudd was kinda appropriate for the images as well !!

caterpiller abstract 1 2009

formosa blooms 2 2009

August 20, 2009 - Posted by | abstract, art, Blurry, Clifty Falls, flora, floral, flower photography, flowers, garden, image, images, indiana, indiana wildflowers, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, plants, Puddle of Mudd, random, thoughts, wildflowers

30 Comments »

  1. That little caterpillar looks as though it’s in a fantasy world, which would probably be pretty good for a caterpillar. I love the feel of the second shot too! Interesting!

    Comment by montucky | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Terry, it is kinda like caterpillar prison !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. That 2nd shot’s really nice! We have a mimosa in our yard. They’re all over down here. Very pretty, invasive or not.

    Comment by Lana | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • I have heard that alot, kinda like beauty and the beast 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. Love that second image, Bernie! It really does have an “other world” feel to it. Nicely done!

    Comment by Jules K | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the comment Jules and for stopping by as well !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Bernie, the first image is too blurry to my taste but the second one is excellent! I really like this forest of curved violet stems topped by that yellow pollen. Great subject.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | August 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the honesty Tomas, it is not everyone’s cup of tea but I do like the feel in it though, take care !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. Yes, the caterpillar sets the tone, almost a fantasy shot. And I love the colors in the second. Don’t you just love a good explore with your camera? A fine shoot, for sure!

    Comment by Bo Mackison | August 21, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Bo, anytime afield with the camera is good !!

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 26, 2009 | Reply

  6. Also a fan of that middle one Bernie. Micro-forest!

    Comment by Mark | August 22, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Mark, kinda resembles one come to think of it !!

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 26, 2009 | Reply

  7. Very interesting images.

    Comment by Descartes | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  8. Great shots, I too have a thing for Macro photography, no to just save enough for the Nikon 105mmVR, my Sigma 105 is a bit spotty….:-)

    Comment by Ed | August 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Ed, I have the 150 Sig and I love it !!

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 26, 2009 | Reply

  9. I guess I am late to the party here, Bernie but I agree with much of what was said above. I know the title is blurry but I keep looking for something sharp to focus on in the first image and its not there. In the second image, the tips draw my eye right to them. I definitely prefer the second.

    Comment by edvatza | August 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Ed, the second is most peoples choice but I really like the funky look in the first one !!

      Comment by bernie kasper | August 26, 2009 | Reply

  10. Nice shots! I like the second one very much! 🙂

    Comment by WildBlack | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  11. Nice photos !! The blurry and wavy effect makes it different from the other flowers that you took !

    The colours of the stamens and buds is really beautiful. Looks beautiful in a sea of many stamens !

    Keep shooting and sharing !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | August 25, 2009 | Reply

  12. very nice, the blurry-ness gives it a more abstract feeling

    Comment by ankush | August 28, 2009 | Reply

    • I know some might not like it because there is no place to rest your eyes in something in focus, but I still like it for the abstract feel !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 29, 2009 | Reply

  13. Love the second photo – great DOF & colors

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | August 29, 2009 | Reply

  14. I really like the second image–delicate, flowing, beautiful.

    Comment by Anita | August 30, 2009 | Reply

  15. Wow, these photos are truly beautiful. I’m so glad I “found” your blog! I’ll be coming back to see more soon. 🙂

    Comment by Deva | September 25, 2009 | Reply

  16. I like this Bernie, looks reminiscent of Michael Brown’s macro work.

    Comment by Richard Wong | October 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

