Madison Indiana Photography

“Let it Bee”


I know I know another corny title but what the heck it just might give you a chuckle.

Another insect shot, I seemed to have gotten more of these this year than I have ever before, and this one was hand held to boot. For me shooting anything without a tripod is almost blasphemy but for this little guy there was no other way, his almost nonstop flying from flower to flower kept me working so fast I finally just threw the tripod down and chased him around till I got a few satisfactory images.

I still didn’t get 100% focus but I think it worked out well and after about 50 shots I was  able to capture a couple that were worth keeping. I have found a new appreciation of the true macro shooters who specialize in insects they are definitely a talented group who knows their craft and produce amazing images, maybe someday I can get to that point but now I will take whatever I can get !!

I also captured quite a few butterfly images this year that at some point I will share with you, it was a nice end of summer and I came away with some nice work, but now I am anticipating a wonderful fall with lots of color and hopefully a few waterfalls sprinkled in as well.

I thought I would leave with the obvious video by The Beatles, I know I am predictable but it was way too easy to do !!

Honey Bee  1 2009

October 7, 2009 - Posted by | art, Clifty Falls, DSLR, floral, flowers, garden, hiking, image, indiana, life, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, photographer, photography, random

18 Comments »

  1. I find insects incredibly hard to photograph. I think this works well for the buzzy creature. Isn’t it amazing that we’ll take 50 shots hoping for one great one? The benefits of digital!

    Comment by Bo Mackison | October 7, 2009 | Reply

    • I couldn’t go back to film if I had to Bo 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s a wonderful shot! I tried lots of times for a good shot of a bee this summer and never did get one.

    Comment by montucky | October 8, 2009 | Reply

    • It took a long time to get this one Terry, but what else do I have to do 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. This is a very appealing shot of the bee, but you’re so right about macro photography, especially of living creatures. (If only they’d hold still!!) Choosing the right DOF is critical, I find. That’s why I have used aperture priority for most of my underwater macro shots of little critters.

    Comment by The Right Blue | October 10, 2009 | Reply

    • It is a pain sometimes Bobbie, and I can only imagine what you are going thru !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. Neat image Bernie – the colors just pull you in.

    Comment by Mark | October 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. I agree. I have the utmost respect for the talents of the insect shooters. Nice shot!

    Comment by edvatza | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. Great shot! I, too, admire people who get those stunning shots of insects. I really don’t know how they do it. More often than not, I seem to be chasing everything around the yard. Perhaps a more Zen-like approach is required.

    Comment by Lana | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • I seem to do a lot of chasing myself Lana, would just like a little more catching every once in a while 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  7. Oh no you didn’t! Let it be 😉 Great pics Bernie!!!
    I tried to channel the Kasper spirit on my way through Clifty the other day. Ya, not happening. You’re just WWAAAAYYY to good at this! Ever look into doing a photo book of Indiana state parks? I think you should! They are just wonderful.

    Comment by Nina Campbell | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes I know Nina it’s bad, but hey it got your attention, thanks for the compliment as well.

      As for a book, who knows what may transpire in the future 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  8. nice macro, and i actually like the title too!

    Comment by ankush | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. That is one terrific shot of the bee. Wow…

    Comment by Preston Surface | October 18, 2009 | Reply

  10. Great title Bernie, and John & Paul. 🙂

    Comment by Richard Wong | November 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

