Madison Indiana Photography

“Indiana Waterfalls”


I thought it might be time to post more waterfall images that I have shot recently, in earlier posts I have shared with you the fact that Jefferson County Indiana has an abundance of waterfalls in the gorges and canyons that lead down into the Ohio River, I have shared some of those images with you earlier and here is one I shot last Saturday that I thought might be worth taking a look at.

This falls has no name that I know of but since it is close to a school I thought I might dub it Schoolhouse Falls, kinda of corny but what the heck, it has a sheer  50-60 ft. drop that is located in a beautiful wooded canyon near Hanover Indiana just outside Madison. At the top of the Falls it also has a smaller 10 ft. Falls that leads out onto the ledge before it plummets to the bottom of the gorge.

I can also tell you this one and most other Falls in our region are very hard to get to and are not for the week of heart or body to try to hike to, very steep cliffs and boulder strewn creeks make the hike treacherous for the novice hiker. Even though I may be getting up there in years I do pride myself as a strong hiker and none of these Falls are easy for me to hike to so be very careful if you ever attempt to hike to one.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look.

You can also click on it for the larger size if you like.

School house falls 1 2009

October 14, 2009 - Posted by | Clifty Falls, creek, DSLR, fall, hiking, Hoffman Branch, image, images, indiana, landscapes, life, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photographer, photography, pictures, random, state parks, thoughts, waterfalls

13 Comments »

  1. wow, beautiful fall shot! awesome processing as well

    Comment by ankush | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Beautiful, Bernie! When enough people see this photo, the falls will have a name!

    Comment by montucky | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. How timely, I’m heading out to do some waterfall photography this weekend. Thought I’d get some nice fall colors to go with it but they are call for a winter storm! Ugh!

    Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. Wonderful photo. Such a tall structure and slender stream. I have never seen a waterfall like this in Virginia.

    Comment by David | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. It’s really beautiful to have so many wonderful natural landscapes such as waterfalls around the place you live in !

    Many photography opportunities ! Would be great to go out & capture photographs of waterfall during a heavy rain (need to be careful though!)

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. Well worth the effort Bernie. Excellent capture. I am a hiker as well who is getting on in years. I am glad when I find waterfalls like those I just recently posted on my blog that have neatly groomed trails, steps, and boardwalks to help get me through. I’ll take it!

    Comment by edvatza | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  7. I never tire of seeing the great falls you have around you Bernie. Another great image.

    Comment by Mark | October 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. I love your pictures.. have made several of them into online puzzles

    Comment by Leslee | October 19, 2009 | Reply

  9. hey, was thinking of doing some hiking, and this looks great. is there a trail leading here? thank you

    Comment by BC | November 18, 2009 | Reply

  10. I think this waterfall is called Fremont Falls. I climbed down there about 5 years ago and so I recognized the falls right away. It should be labeled on USGS maps but you can verify on a map to see if that’s the same one as this. Great shot!!

    Comment by Jamie B. | October 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Actually Jamie it has no name Fremont is in the next gorge south of this one, people in the area call it schoolhouse falls because it is located just below Southwestern High School.

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | October 12, 2011 | Reply

      • I live In Jeffersonville Indiana and I would like to visit this waterfall can you please tell me how to get there.

        Comment by Anonymous | June 7, 2015

  11. There are actually 4 waterfalls in this area: Butler falls which is slightly larger drop off and is named on the maps, then this fall which is really about 800 feet away. I assume the un-named fall is the one you refer to since it is not labeled. It is my understanding that it is indeed referred to as Schoolhouse falls. Then on the other side of the High school there is Crowe falls. That is about 4000 feet away as the crow flies from Butler falls. Lastly there is horseshoe falls which is up by Hanover College. That is another mile away from Crowe falls. I have never been to those two and have no idea who owns them.

    If anyone would like to see this waterfall and Butler falls, it is actually located just beyond my property line. Butler is in my side yard and the schoolhouse falls is on my neighbors land. Look on the map and go two houses south of the middle school and you will see a large house set 500′ off the road with blue and green siding and some wood slats. Or leave a response and I will contact you through here. please keep in mind all of these are on private property so I would suggest finding the owner and asking permission before trekking down to any of them.

    Comment by Nathan | April 8, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

