Madison Indiana Photography

“The Butterfly Flu”


Wouldn’t that be a much nicer name for this crap I am putting up with !!

Day 4 of the Swine Flu(I guess)experience, my son seems a bit better and now old dad is feeling his age. Best way to describe it is like having someone with a ball bat taking practice on your chest. I am either hot or cold  and the cough sounds like someone is strangling a seal !!

The good news is”‘CODEINE” what a wonderful invention, the only problem is I can’t operate heavy machinery while I am under its influence, so there goes that combine ride I was going to take later tonight.  I am actually starting to acquire a taste for Spongebob now, I think Patrick is my favorite character though, with the drugs and sickness influencing my mind I am now starting to compare the characters on Spongebob with people I actually know !!  I won’t share these with you but it has definitely helped with all this down time I am experiencing !

I found some butterfly shots I thought might brighten someones day(not mine) but at least it is something bright and cheery, and  no one can say I wasn’t trying to be positive !. I shot some of these late last summer while visiting my sister, I always love going there her husband makes the best wine, and I like visiting her as well !!

Shooting butterflies is not an easy task and people who consistently get great shots are to be applauded. This one has a bright spot in the left corner but for my first attempts I was pretty encouraged. I tried to stay away from flash by cranking up the iso and shooting in jpeg, but when all was said and done the flash seemed to be the best approach.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look !!

064

November 12, 2009 - Posted by | art, blogging, Butterfly, calla lily, Clifty Falls, DSLR, history, image, images, indiana, life, macro, macro photography, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, news, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, Summer, Swine Flu, thoughts, West Street Art Center

21 Comments »

  1. That’s a very nice shot! You did indeed brighten my day; thanks.

    Comment by montucky | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. A really lovely shot, Bernie. With a little bit more blurred background it would be perfect. Still a great image!

    To your health conditions, I’m really glad to read that you take it with humour because everything is easier with good amount of it. I hope that you’ll feel better soon and you’ll be able to get outside.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | November 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Tomas sometimes it takes a bit of humor !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks Tomas and I agree with the burred bg, would love to have gotten that !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hope you feel better soon Bernie. Enough wine should knock that right out of your system – so I think the butterfly is particularly symbolic and you need to make a trip.

    Comment by Mark | November 12, 2009 | Reply

    • If the wine doesn’t there is always whiskey !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 9, 2010 | Reply

  5. Pretty Painted Lady image, bright and vivid. Hope you feel better soon…

    Comment by tomwhelan | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. Well, I applaud this great shot! Beautiful! I haven’t yet been able to get a decent capture of a butterfly. My goodness that flu sounds very nasty. May you get well!

    Comment by Anna Surface | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  7. You have a very nice site. Your photos are good indeed.

    Keep on working and may you feel well soon.

    Comment by fabi | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  8. Well you posted this two days ago so hopefully you are starting to fell better by now. It lasted about a week for me but I am still having problems with cough keeping me up nights.

    I really like this image. The butterfly looks great and I like the composition – the triangle of a flower, the angle of the butterfly, the background are are great. Can you please ask the butterfly to not stick his tongue out at the camera. Very childish! ;^)

    Comment by edvatza | November 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. Bernie! You are writing such interesting stuff these days. Pain makes us better writers and artists in general don’t you think? And isn’t it worth all the suffering? Or maybe I should wait until you are feeling a little better to ask you that question.

    Hope you feel better soon.

    Comment by David | November 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Its not the pain that helps but more like the medicine that treats it David !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  10. Nice nice ! Beautiful, well captured & sharp image of the butterfly !

    Nice change from your landscape photos !!

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | November 20, 2009 | Reply

  11. Me, I’m a Squidward man. I’m just working my day job in computers until my photo career takes off. My wife is making me a button that says “I’d really rather not be here right now” so I can wear it to work. I am Squidward!

    Nice photo by the way.

    MDW

    Comment by forestrat | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  12. Squidward is a good character to identify with Mark !!

    Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

