Madison Indiana Photography

“Survived the Swine Flu”


After ten days and countless hours in bed I think I have finally put the worst behind me, if they were right and  my son and I both had the swine flu I will have to disagree  with the assertion that it is harder on the young than the old, my son struggled with it a bit but it put me down really hard !!

I hope this puts to an end the flu season for me and my family but I know the odds of that happening are slim to none, after a couple of years of relatively flu free winters this could end up being a nasty year !!  So now it’s wait and see what next strain will come calling and how bad it will be, it doesn’t help that my son is in Elementary School, my wife works in a hospital and I coach High School Basketball. Can’t run and hide from it when you have that many possible exposures !!

Moving on to something a little more pleasant Scott Thomas at http://stphoto.wordpress.com/ has a monthly assignment on his blog, and this months assignment is what November means to you and to me it means fall color !!

I shot this one a few November’s back and really loved the curve in the creek and the colorful leaves sprinkled all thru out the image. Take a look at Scott’s Blog there is a lot of great shots there and some very informative posts. Thanks for stopping by and taking a look hope you stay healthy and flu free this year !!

Zenfolio | BFK Photography


November 18, 2009 - Posted by | art, calla lily, Clifty Falls, creek, DSLR, fall, hiking, Hoffman Branch, image, images, indiana, landscapes, leaf, Madison Indiana, nature, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, random, state parks, Swine Flu, waterfalls

22 Comments »

  1. Glad you made it through the flu!
    The photo is beautiful. Love the splash of color from the leaves, and the smoothness of the water.

    Comment by thedailyclick | November 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Great shot! I’m so glad you’re both better–I can’t imagine how horrible you must have felt. I count my blessings that we’ve managed to avoid it (particularly w/hubby working at a University & me at the local, public library.)

    Comment by Lana | November 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m glad you all survived! You certainly had no place to hide from it, in fact you accomplished about all available exposures!

    Great photo!

    Comment by montucky | November 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Terry, and you are right about being surrounded by it, but we survived to fight another day 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. Bernie, I’m really glad that you’re both feeling well again and wish you to stay in good health for long time!
    I like the photo, both the curve and colourful leaves are lovely.

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | November 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. First off, I’m glad you are felling better. I was hit on 10/25 and still have the lingering cough. Now my wife is down with something – not sure its flu though.

    I find that I have a hard time following the flow of the water in the stream I think because my eye keeps being attracted to those bright colorful leaves on the rock at bottom center. They keep holding my attention.

    Comment by edvatza | November 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Ed, and I see your point on the leaves.

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. Bernie, I’m glad you are feeling better and coming back to life. So far, so good as we haven’t been bitten by the bug. This is a beautiful capture. I love the composition with a few bright leaves along the flow.

    Comment by Anna Surface | November 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. Welcome back Bernie. I have some Purell at my desk after stopping by here just in case. 😉 Love this photo and the curve…

    Comment by Mark | November 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Mark and my Wife swears by Purell, didn’t help me and my son out though 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  8. Bernie, I sure hate to hear that you have the flu but I’m glad you are on the mend. It has really been bad where I live.

    As always you have a lot of great photos.

    I love the butterfly you captured at your sister’s house.

    Great vision on this shot as well.

    I hope your season goes really well!

    Comment by Artist Boyd Greene | November 27, 2009 | Reply

  9. Happy to hear that you’re feeling better. With the exposure you have, you must be building one strong immune system.

    Love the S curve & colors.

    Comment by Adam R. Paul | December 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Adam, I hope your right about the exposure help me out !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hi Bernie. Hope you and your son are 100% better by now, and that no one else in your household has fallen ill.

    Best wishes for a happy holiday season, and a wonderful new year.

    P.S. I’m with Adam, above. That S curve is classic!

    Comment by The Right Blue | December 22, 2009 | Reply

  11. Great to see you back here taking photographs & blogging & stumbling !

    Have a Merry Christmas & lots of fun !

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    Comment by JH | December 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

