Madison Indiana Photography

” Madison Indiana Main Street Snow at Night “


I am just about over all this snow for one year, we have had about 18-20 inches in the last week, a couple snowstorms is nice but this is getting ridiculous !!  I would love to get out into the countryside to get a few landscape shots but they have us on this Level One emergency which means authorized vehicles only whatever that means, considering I saw a lot of unauthorized vehicles traveling up and down Main Street tonight I might just venture out tomorrow.

So tonight I thought I might just take a walk down on Main Street here in Madison Indiana and play around with some real long exposure shots of the cars moving up and down the street. I  captured about 50 images and after a long look came away with a couple shots I kinda liked, here is on of the shots I kept, this was a 15 second exposure and it does have a pretty cool look to it.

It’s funny all the looks you get from people as they drive by, I am sure they were wondering what I was up to. It was rather fun standing on Main Street with my tripod and camera pointing it at the cars as they went by. The looks I got were definitely worth standing in the snow and cold !!

You need to click on the image for the larger view !!

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | abstract, art, hiking, history, ice, image, images, indiana, landscapes, life, Madison Indiana, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, thoughts, travel, winter

14 Comments »

  1. i like the starbursts from the lights.

    Comment by Tri | February 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. Very cool shot. I like all of your work. Do you ever photograph people?

    Comment by Rusty Bladen | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Rusty..Thanks for the compliment and for stopping by my blog I will link your site to my blog.

      I am just starting to add people to my other work, I am working with another photographer right now and we are opening a studio on main street, should be in by March, if you need anything let me know.

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Way cool. I’ve been considering playing more with night photography, but I think I’ll wait ’til it’s warmer. <:\

    Comment by Lana | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • I thought it was always warmer in the deep south 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. That is a nice, crisp shot, Bernie. It’s hard to imagine the street that deserted.

    Comment by montucky | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s actually kinda neat like this Terry !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. I agree, those starbursts really make this photo stand. Huh, you get those looks, too? I thought it was just me! 😉 It is worth it..every darn shutter click.

    Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | February 17, 2010 | Reply

    • It cracks me up how people will actually just stop and stare when you bring out a tripod 🙂

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | February 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. very cool light trails coach! and hey, I’m searching for your link to your zenfolio galleries, but don’t see it up here?

    Comment by Cindy | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. I don’t know. That is one big coffee and tea store you have there! 😎 The long exposure is excellent here, Bernie. Love the light it has allowed to you capture. WOnderful winter scene.

    Comment by edvatza | February 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. A nice nighttime snowy street scene. Long exposures are fun with cars zipping by. LOL on the looks you got while out snapping shots. That does happen. 🙂

    Comment by Anna Surface | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. I clicked on your image and really enjoyed the large view. So clear and crisp with miles of depth to it. I know what you are talking about as far as folks looking at you. Anna and I carry cards to hand out when people ask. Once they get a card, they start telling us all sorts of things about the subject we are taking photos of.

    Comment by Preston | February 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

