Madison Indiana Photography

“Madison Indiana Winter-J.F.D Lanier Mansion”


Hope everyone is doing well, basketball is finally over and I am working at a fast pace trying to get our photography studio up and running over the next few weeks. Winter has been a bear and it looks like it still isn’t going to release its icy hold on us just yet, it’s hard to belive that last year in the second week of March I was shooting wildflowers at Clifty Falls State Park here in Madison Indiana, and I will be thrilled when I can actually get out and shoot some this year !!

I thought I might share another image from one of our many snowstorms we had to endure this year, I actually used to like getting out and shooting images in the snow but as I get older I find myself disliking winter more every year.  This is an image of the J.F.D Lanier Mansion it is the home of the financier who loaned money to the state of Indiana to save it from bankruptcy and to enable the state to support troops for the Civil War. Designated a National Historic Landmark in 1994, this 1844 Greek Revival mansion was designed by architect Francis Costigan for financier and railroad magnate James F.D. Lanier.

I have shot many images of this beautiful old home and for some reason I never seem to tire of it, if you ever get a chance to come to Madison Indiana this would definitely be a top place for you to visit on your trip.

Hopefully in one of my next few posts I might be able to show you how the studio is coming along and give you a time when we will finally be up and running. It has definitely been tough trying  to set everything up, mostly on time constraint problems, there just never seems to be enough time in a day to get things done…Oh well I hope you will have a great week and we can finally get winter behind us  and get spring started soon !!

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look, and for a better view just click on the image !!

March 1, 2010 - Posted by | architecture, art, calla lily, Clifty Falls, history, image, indiana, landscapes, Madison Indiana, nature photography, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, pictures, random, state parks, thoughts, travel, winter

11 Comments »

  1. The Lanier Mansion is definitely an attractive subject. I got a bunch of shots of it myself when I was last in Madison.

    Comment by Jim | March 1, 2010 | Reply

    • It is definitely a pretty neat building Jim !!

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. The building has a very solid yet elegant look to it.
    I sure hope the studio goes well for you and will be watching its progress with interest.

    Comment by montucky | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. nice image

    Comment by simple-hide | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. Nice shot. I hear you on Winter v. aging. My last Winter in Canada was the coldest in 100 years, actually. 3 of the Great Lakes froze & I just kept telling myself “this is the LAST time!”

    Comment by Lana | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  5. It seems that the winter is extremely harsh everywhere. Finally, it seems that spring is coming here. Almost all snow has thawed and spring flower starts to peek from the soil. Wish you see them soon, too!

    Re. photo, the building looks really nice. What colours is the façade?

    Comment by Tomas Turecek | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. My, what a stately and elegant mansion. I would love to see the inside. Wonderful capture in the snow. By the way, I’m also getting to where I dislike the snow as I get older. Perhaps a month of snow then no more would make me happy. Looking forward to the posts on your photography studio. 🙂

    Comment by Anna | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  7. This is an ageless photo of a stately manor. Could have taken this anytime in the last 50 or so years and it would look the same.

    Comment by Scott Thomas Photography | March 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

