Madison Indiana Photography

“Whitetail Buck”


Taking a break from my wildflower images I thought I might now share some work from a recent trip to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Most of my time was spent with visiting family and friends but I did manage to get  away for a few shots in Cades Cove one morning and was able to come away with some pretty nice pics of a bachelor group of Whitetail bucks with their antlers still covered in velvet.

Cades Cove is an amazing place in the Park because of it’s size and geographic isolation, the animals have an absolute run of the place with no basic threat from human activities except for being fed by the random tourists who doesn’t understand how much damage they can do to the animal, but that is for another time.

While driving thru the Cove one morning I came across a group of about of about 5-6 very large Whitetails that were very amazing to watch feed and just mill about without much interest in the human activity that was going on around them, they showed no fear and actually came so close  that my zoom lens almost became a hindrance instead of helping, but it still came in handy anyway !!

I was also lucky enough to have photographed quite a few bears on this trip as well, it’s funny that when you usually see bears you have to pursue them for a shot (which is a big no-no) but on this trip they seemed to be pursuing me instead !!

All in all it was great trip and I was able to get quite a few shots of the local wildlife hopefully I can share them with you very soon, thanks for stopping by and taking a look !!

Click on the image for the larger version !!

July 29, 2010 - Posted by | art, bears, calla lily, DSLR, fall, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, hiking, image, images, life, mountains, nature, nature photography, news, outdoors, photoblog, photographer, photography, photos, pictures, random, Summer, thoughts, travel, whitetail deer

6 Comments »

  1. nice photo! I browsed some of your flower images as well and they’re lovely.

    Comment by sheila365 | July 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. Nice tall rack on that guy!

    Comment by montucky | July 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. I bet that’s an awesome area. We’re planning a road trip “out West” next Spring…I never even considered the Smokies! Will have to put that on the “to do” list.

    Comment by Lana | August 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. Bernire.. great work as usual! Nice job on the blog!

    Comment by Jack Graham | August 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. All the deer in Indiana and you had to go to the Smokies to photograph one? 🙂

    Comment by Jim | August 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Don’t let my wife know I have her convinced I have to travel there to find them 😉

      Comment by Bernie Kasper | August 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

